170 hp backed up by a 5-speed manual

in #cars6 years ago

motor.jpg
So here is the motor in my 92 RS. LO3 305 TBI motor, 170 hp backed up by a 5-speed manual. The car is 99% factory original with 185,000 miles. To me it’s a blank slate. My thoughts are rebuild the 305, put a Holley Sniper kit on it, new clutch, rebuild the 5-speed or put a 350 crate motor with an upgraded 5/6- speed transmission? Thoughts???

I’m keeping my LO3. It’s slow, so what. Cool car anyways. It’s a blast to drive!! With the 5-speed, and a standard rear end, it’s supper easy to spin through 1st and chirp 2nd!!! Get it on the high way and put in 5th and just cruise all day!!! The motor responded well to the cat back exhaust and the E3 plugs.

I originally bought the car as parts for my IROC. But once I got it running, (when I first got it, someone had drilled two holes into the fuel tank while installing a sound system in the car) it drove so well even with all the miles on it, I could not bring myself to rip it apart.

Yeah I haven’t had a third gen since 2005. Forgot how nice they drive. Picked up a nice 92 RS for cheap. Thousand different ideas for more power and I just left it stock. Drives nice, looks good,starts every time and averages 22mpg on 87 octane.

I swapped out the factory shifter with a Hurst shifter and I love how much it changed the shifter throw. I know most everyone doesn’t like the 305,but it starts every time, doesn’t smoke, and it’s just fun to drive from point A to B.

Also if u want more power I'd swap a 350, u can get power out of a 305 but parts cost more and your limit is lower than what u can achieve with a 350 and both are just as easy to find, I'm swapping my 305 H.O. from my 84 trans with 90k miles for 350, I'm not looking for a 1000hp but something I'm 500 to 600 range would be nice lol

350 crate motor. Keep the original motor 100% original, outside the car, so you can swap it back in later if you want. Don't rebuild or soup up the original motor, I wouldn't risk something going wrong and blowing it. I'm in the same position, plan on pulling the original L69 and dropping in a 350 crate motor from GMPP

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60896.14
ETH 2915.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55