You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: First Road Tests - Stealth Water Methanol Injection - [SH2OMI] - Update 12.06.2018

in #cars6 years ago (edited)

I saw the problem right off, your steering wheel is on the wrong side of the car, ROFLOL! :) Is this a standard, or an automatic?

Sounded good, I would measure on the flat only to remove some of the variables. If you are able to add a manifold temp and vacuum reading, try to get it in the video. You can review readings later that way.

A high temp thermocouple is not exactly an EGT (exhaust Gas Temp) pickup, but if you use a radiator clamp, and cover it with exhaust pipe repair tape (for insulation), it will be close.

I know the war birds watched this when they went war emergency. They didn't say why, but I suspect the higher temp was hard on the valves. BUT, they were using direct high pressure injection, so you shouldn't get into dangerous valve temperatures.

Sort:  

;) yup, those damn europeans and their right hand drive LOL.
It's a manual transmission.

I've been on Google Earth and the inclination on that stretch of road was roughly 1 in 18 (10 metre drop over approx. 180metre distance for the 0-60 blast).

I'll see if the app has those metrics available :)

Cheers again,

Robster.

Try it both ways to see if your metering can tell the difference. Quick test to see if it is measuring what you expect. Enjoy! :)

Good thinking :)

I forgot that the 'Torque' app has an accurate (according to their blurb) 0-60 time recorder included. I could see how it correlates to the video frame measuring method :)

Excellent! The more accurate your data, the more accurate youe test results! They may have a Forum online, where someone has tried to use their app to measure their own modifications of different kinds. Might be good information there.

The methanol in the water May serve the same use as in the wiper fluid; it may be antifreeze....NOT a problem, just a guess. When you get your testing working well, try with and without; and see what the difference actually is.

You may have as much fun testing as building.

:)

Hello @smithlabs, apologies for late reply. It's been hectic at EggHQ :)

Unfortunately, the SH2OMI went 'pop' the other day when testing again. I heard the pop and then water fly out of the scuttle vents. I'll probably do a post/video on it soon but I've lost enthusiasm now. Upon inspection, I also spotted that the boost feed connector on the inlet manifold pipe had failed and so engine was leaking boost pressure.

This project has been fighting me all the way and I've probably spent as much money as a commercial kit and so I took all the stuff out of the car at the weekend and gone back to standard (apart from the tuning box).

Sorry to disappoint after all your support but it was driving me mad LOL

Anyhoo,

Thanks again,

Rob.

No problem, I would rather you didn't jump off a cliff, LOL! I am happy to help, so don't let that bother you. :)

Cheers ;) LOL

The next time you decide to reinstall this, replace all the tubing with fuel injector (high pressure) hose, and use good clamps. We had a underhood fuel fire in a 1973 280SE because the clamps were weak, still fixing that! >;(

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63894.44
ETH 3342.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91