Should I declaw my cat? 🤔⁉

in #cat6 years ago

image

Meet my magical glowing cat, Mika Chan!!

Mika Chan is one of those that cat that will attack your foot while you pass by, scratch your leather sofas, destroys Christmas trees, rearrange the floor mats and scratch that really expensive Ottoman furniture to their death. R.I.P.

Basically, she likes to redecorate my place into a haunted house. 👻🏚

Her bites don't hurt but her claws!! EGAD THEY REALLY REALLY HURT! Sometimes, I get bloody scratches all over my hands, legs, and foot.

This was really a big problem. A friend of mine recommended me to have my cat declawed. Hmmm..declawing an animal sounds weird to me.

image

So what I did, I check the so-called world wide web or internet for short what are the advantages and disadvantages of declawing a cat.

And I found out that only a professionals should perform the surgery. They need to remove the claw then remove the little piece of BONE that the claw grows. If you don’t, the claw will try to grow back again. Plus, there's a chance your cat will get SICK and the recovery will take two to three weeks.

Hmmm..I don't know. Sounds scary. I'll just wear pants and socks and I'll have Mika Chan keep her sharp claws. Besides, she likes to climb trees.

Well! Guess I'm stuck with the claws then. 😕

Neko Chan。

Fin ❤️

Sort:  

Thank you for doing research before jumping into it! Declawing a cat can be very harmful, especially since, like you found out, the vet has to remove the bone. In humans, it's akin to removing the first knuckle of every finger. Yikes!
There are options like plastic tips to put on a cat's claws (although there's no way in a million years I could ever get my cats to hold still while I put on the tips).
Maybe if you fill your house with scratchy toys and posts and whatnot, she won't claw the furniture as much? But then again, cats do what they want...
But again, thank you for being a good mom and putting your kitty's needs first! <3

Congratulations @kissnekomimi! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Yes, truly unnatural and scary 😖. I like to see my cat being a little white ninja climbing trees and curtains. They look cute and funny.

I made those DYI scratching post made of brushes and ropes but they prefer my furniture. 😂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63715.95
ETH 2946.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55