Meet my cat, Lou! 😺

in #cat6 years ago (edited)

My cat was being crazy today, so I thought I would introduce her to the Steemit world.

IMG_20171029_145409.jpg

Her name is Lou and she is a tortoiseshell cat. She has a ton of energy and can either be found napping or bouncing off the walls. My girlfriend and I adopted her back in July and she has been running our lives (especially our sleep schedule) ever since!

I didn't know this previously, but apparently tortie cats have a reputation for being a bit extra crazy at times. Something I've heard referred to as "tortietude". Not sure if that is true or if she is just a normal, high energy kitten.

Anyone else have a tortoiseshell cat?

Here are some more pictures:

IMG_20180122_204213_462.jpg

IMG_20170902_160305.jpg

Sort:  

At 4 weeks, it is important to play with kittens so that they do not develope a fear of people.

I believe it! Fortunately, she was played with before we adopted her 😺

Neutering a male cat will, in almost all cases, stop him from spraying (territorial marking), fighting with other males (at least over females), as well as lengthen his life and improve its quality.

I will keep that in mind. Thanks!

A cat can’t climb head first down a tree because every claw on a cat’s paw points the same way. To get down from a tree, a cat must back down.

Interesting. Good to know! Keep the facts coming, cat fact bot.

A cat called Dusty has the known record for the most kittens. She had more than 420 kittens in her lifetime.

I remember someone telling me once, that toroiseshell cats like this are all female. If they have that specific face split fur patterning. Any truth to this that you know of?

She's a beautiful cat though. You should share daily pics of her like @grapthar does with his kitties.

Yep, that is true! The gene for fur color is on the X chromosome and since females (XX) have both, they get a good mixture that you see in tortoiseshell cats. Males are XY so in a similar litter they would be a more uniform color. Male tortoiseshells do actually occur in the rare case that they have an extra chromosome (XXY), but unfortunately they usually don't live long after birth because of the genetic abnormality, so they are super rare. Good suggestion, I'll start posting her more often!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61763.08
ETH 2899.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49