Living High Life on Credit w/ Four Cats

in #cats6 years ago

Hi, I'm Annie. 29 yr old in Los Angeles, living in commercially zoned warehouse in Skid Row. I moved here in 2016 with my cat, Esther and boyfriend, C. Day to day, I work from home full-time for a beer company and go to law school at night. I try to keep one foot in reality but often can't tell what foot is where.
IMG_20180202_152947.jpg

C is a painter, pot smoker, thinker and full-time companion to me. We live on my salary (and credit card debt) alone. Sometimes that makes me feel taken advantage of but mostly I'm happy to support our little family. On bad days, I look up the meaning of resentment on the internet. On good days, I buck societal pressures of masculinity and quid-pro-quo relationships, and I'm thankful for a partner who feels the same. Gotta eat though. But not tit-for-tat? I'm pretty reckless with money, which is not something to be proud of, but I'll admit it now. Often I fantasize about living my fullest life and then killing myself.
IMG_9238.JPG

Several months ago, we adopted an FIV+ cat named Hawk. We took in Hawk's sister too, but she died of colon cancer. Next, we took in a foster, Alaska, who is FelV+. Finally, C's grandpa died, and we swooped up his farm cat, who was previously prowling orchards in the Columbia River Basin. It's hard to say no. We love building (or catifying) our space to maximize cat happiness. If I don't kill myself, maybe I'll turn into a cat.

IMG_9093.JPG

Because I live around people without means and with serious drug and mental health problems, I try to have a low societal impact. Although, when my anxiety gets the best of me, I start buying prepping materials (water, axes, filtration devices, rope, etc.) on Amazon. I want to acquire skills and be worthwhile. But mostly I'm just trying to stay above water and enjoy myself. Maybe make someone's day better. Maybe disrupt what's already out there. My plan is to add content to Steemit, but I have no other objective yet.

IMG_5863.jpg

Sort:  

The cheetah is the world's fastest land mammal. It can run at speeds of up to 70 miles an hour (113 kilometers an hour).

Esther might be the world's slowest cat.

When a family cat died in ancient Egypt, family members would mourn by shaving off their eyebrows. They also held elaborate funerals during which they drank wine and beat their breasts. The cat was embalmed with a sculpted wooden mask and the tiny mummy was placed in the family tomb or in a pet cemetery with tiny mummies of mice.

Congratulations @banannieapple! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - A better rich list comparator
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @banannieapple! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @banannieapple! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61383.17
ETH 2915.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61