Ode to Cats Gone Bye

in #cats6 years ago

20150521_102158.jpg
That's Squirrel. She was one of my best friends ever. I rescued her from a dumpster eating macaroni that was molded and had dirty diapers all around it.
Squirrel was unlike any cat I've ever had. She thought she was a dog. I suppose it's because I trained her as such. Yes. I trained her. 75% of the time she would fetch, roll over, play dead when you shot her with a pointed finger and said bang. 75% is not bad considering she is a cat and cats are, well, opinionated.
Squrriel moved away when another stray came into the house and had kittens. She'd sniff the little things and hiss at them and eventually she had enough and moved to the junior high school across the street where she could hunt and have command of her world. I'd visit her often late at night or when I'd take off on my bicycle. She could always trust papa for a can of tuna. The picture above was taken some 5yrs after we had moved away from the neighborhood and she was still glad to see her papa.

Kittens. That stray I mentioned, she gave me Sugar. Here's an old picture of my dearest Sugar.
20141220_152815.jpg
I bet you can't guess how she got the name. Just look at her, she's the color of sugar cane and just as sweet. Sugar was one of the most loving and affectionate cats, as long as you were me. If you were not her papa she could care less about you and oft times would strike at you telling you to leave her alone, she was owned, and wanted no part of other humans.
Here she is again showing her loving trust of her daddy.
20141222_140351.jpg
I was so saddened the day she had got hit by a car. It was like an omen. My ex got hooked on drugs again and started her chaotic ragings, winter that year was cold and unbearable without my sweet Sugar to keep me warm and calm my nerves from all the madness that had insued. Truly, Sugar kept me grounded and protected from the evil world that seemed to be surrounding me back then.

Stupid cats. I never used to like them that much until Squirrel came along dropping her kills aty feet then looking up at me as if to ask permission to eat it. Then Sugar came along and offered unbridled love and affection when there seemed to be none. I do, so miss her.

I've learned in life cats are like days, and people, they come, they go, and you should cherish them for their sharing their time with you. Today I got Mr Cat
IMG_20180614_122119.jpg
And his little sidekick and exercise instructor, Valda, the little warrior princess that keeps him on his toes.
IMG_20180817_181612.jpg
Needless to say there in hardly a dull moment when those two go at it, and just like the girls gone past I'll be saddened when these two are gone, but until then there will be love in the house.

Sort:  

Aw sweet kitties! Your furrbabies are adorable. I'm so sorry you had to go through those rough times with Sugar and your Ex. I can't imagine the hurt T^T

Pets are like children I can only imagine they are people just reincarnated, choosing to live life differently and with a companion. Enriching each other's lives for the next round.

ฅ/ᐠ-ᆽ-ᐟ\

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-09-18T01:20:24
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 277.25/200.00
Total Photos: 44
Total comments: 8
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 1.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

I upvoted your post.

Mabuhay, keep steeming.
@Filipino

Posted using https://Steeming.com condenser site.

I upvoted your post.

Keep steeming for a better tomorrow.
@Acknowledgement - God Bless

Posted using https://Steeming.com condenser site.

Animals are great friends and our teachers. :)

howdy sir spozone! hey I didn't know that you could train cats like you do dogs! amazing. Cats are cool.

Training a cat requires a huge amount of patience and love. You simply ignore the negative and reward the positive behaviors. It takes awhile. A lot depends on the cat and how early you start training. You got to start early.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01