#Caturday and A Little Emotional Outpouring

in #caturday4 years ago

Copy of No such thing as too much kimchi.png

Saturday is Caturday! Today I woke up feeling so sad (more later) and then I want to the PowerHouseCreatives community page and saw @thekittygirl's #caturday post, and just felt instantly better!

It inspired me to share this photo of my Obi Wan kitten, snug in his basket with his favourite blanket. #lockdownforwhat 😂

WhatsApp Image 20200404 at 12.10.57.jpeg

WhatsApp Image 20200404 at 12.50.06.jpeg

A few minutes later, curled up like a firefox

I also wanted to share some photos I found on the internet that I thought fit in well with #caturday.

IMG_5151.jpeg

A photo of a family during the Spanish Influenza outbreak in 1918, even Kitty had a mask - source

IMG_5072.jpeg

Real life representation of me after lockdown - source

Just writing this post has cheered me up significantly 😁 I have been feeling quite sad since I spoke with my boss yesterday, he announced that he would be implementing a paid leave structure for our company during the lockdown in South Africa, which basically means that as long an employee has annual leave they will be paid. Which is great! BUT once that leave runs out, it will become unpaid leave. This means that if SA extends the lockdown past the 16th April (it is rumoured that this will definitely happen) all of our staff will have finished their annual leave, which means noone will get paid.

Honestly, it's different for me, since I am still working, so the policy doesn't apply to me, but I am so concerned for my colleagues, who are mainly the only income for their families. I literally burst into tears today thinking of all of them.

I comfort myself with the fact that the lockdown has not been extended as of yet, so I really pray that it doesn't get extended. I'm a stresser by nature, stress about everything. It's something I'm working on.

Here's hoping 🙌

Your thoughts matter to me. I upvote each and every well thought out comment that graces my post. To encourage dialogue and interaction. 💜

footer.png

Sort:  

This lockdown thing is so hard. Basically all my income is gone: clients are all in the tourism industry and I'm a freelancer/sub-contractor. So, I'm looking elsewhere for whatever I can find. This too will pass.

Be well.

I am so glad that my post cheered you and inspired a post of your own! 🤗

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57741.16
ETH 2947.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69