We are Slaves of our own actions

in #chain6 years ago

I was at New Amsterdam and walked past the former prison and saw a greasy and rusted chain with a very old lock on it. This picture immediately brought me back to Slavery in Suriname. Then I immediately asked myself the question: How did people live then? How much pain did they have to endure?

Today there are many human rights organizations that stand up for humanity. But are we really free as a person? Are we not SLAVES of our own thoughts and our needs?

Sometimes we force ourselves to things in this materialist world and injure our 'I' in such a way that we have no realization. We lose our 'I' for small things that are not important, but seem to be the most important to us.
We create an emptiness, while that emptiness does not have to exist if we love ourselves, cherish ourselves and do not become increasingly stingy in this world.

So, are you a slave of your own actions?

XoXo Maryan

Note: Nieuw Amsterdam is the capital of the Commewijne District in Suriname. It is a small coastal town situated at the confluence of the Suriname River and Commewijne River, just across from Paramaribo, the country's capital. Its population at the 2012 census was 5,650, with around 1,200 people living in the main town, most of whom are of Javanese and East Indian origin. It is the location of the historical Fort Nieuw-Amsterdam, today an open-air museum. (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nieuw_Amsterdam,_Suriname)

3. Enslaved 2013.jpg

Sort:  

I used to be a slave of my own actions. Now they set me free.

Welcome to Steemit Maryan.

Check out this post when you put Suriname on the map ;)
https://steemit.com/steemitworldmap/@katerinaramm/what-is-steemitworldmap-and-how-to-add-your-location-images-to-the-map-how-to

Thank you for posting my article!

It is now even easier to include a location on @steemitworldmap!

  1. Go to > http://www.steemitworldmap.com/
  2. Find your location
  3. Click on "Code" button at the bottom of the screen to turn it on (will be 'Explore' after clicking on it)
  4. Choose your location and if you want, you can add a description
  5. Click the code to copy it and then paste it in your post!

Good Luck!

swm.jpg

Thanks @katerinaramm! That's great news, starting my journey next month, so I will definitely make use of it.

I am sure you will enjoy your journey.
Let me know if you have any questions : )

I sure will :)

When you understand the power of yourself, you will look different at live... Than the chain breaks... No SLAVE no more...

Very true ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67946.39
ETH 3824.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77