Discovering Iran

Hi Steemians! Today I'll talk about a lesser traveled destination - Tehran. Although I have touched on this place earlier, which you can read more here: https://steemit.com/news/@cpyjeffrey/prayfortehran
this post will be a more casual one.

Basically, Tehran, the capital of the Islamic Republic of Iran, is a generally safe place to visit for the regular tourist. Visa procedures are easy and hassle free, and no fuss at the immigration upon arrival either. In seconds, I was out at the baggage claim area to meet my driver down at the arrival hall of Imam Khomeini Airport (IKA).

I stayed at Tehran Grand Hotel. It was a nifty hotel situated at a very central area in the Motahari Avenue. Room cleaniless was fine and it was extremely spacious, despite a eerie bakery aroma seeping in the air as I entered the room.

IMG_2034.JPG

It was a very convenient location. The metro station, Meydan-e Jahad was only five minutes walk away. Incidentally, Tehran has a very efficient mass transit system underground that serves as the city's main transport method. Some say Tehran has the most deadly traffic in the world and it is almost impossible to cross the street. However, I found it to be an overexaggeration and it was not too much of a deal as long as you watched the traffic carefully when 'jaywalking'.

IMG_2030.JPG

People are generally very helpful, but Iranian men are especially curious of foreigners in their sight. They may stare at you, laugh amongst themselves, or even whistle at you as you pass by or stand in the metro, but they are generally not hostile and are only interested in the sight of a foreigner. Remember though, that men are strictly forbidden to have any intimacy with Iranian women unless you are a married couple! Women have their own special car at the front and back ends of the trains so men cannot enter.

IMG_2125.JPG

Food wise, there are not many choices unfortunately. It was either kebab, burgers or very dehydrated fried chicken. Kebab is mostly good, but I do have reservations for the fried chicken. It was the driest thing I have ever tasted in my life. There is also a brewing coffee culture in Tehran (no pun intended ;) waiting to be discovered.

IMG_2031.JPG

So that's it for today. Hopefully you have enjoyed my little concise guide on Tehran. It's a beautiful city so please do take the chance to visit in your lifetime!

IMG_2098.JPG

Sort:  

Thanks for the guide and tips :) Never been there but hopefully ill get to trave there once in my lifetime

Totally worth the time and money invested. Experience of a lifetime :)

I'm sure :) Can i ask, what were your expectations before you went there and how did your expectations match up to reality?

@oneup Actually, I did plenty of research beforehand so I was expecting lots of warm hospitality, beautiful architecture and somewhat dangerous driving. But when I actually got there, the hospitality was not wow but fair - just like any other big cities, and architecture was not anything too spectacular either apart from the UNESCO sites. Traffic was nowhere horrible either and I couldn't really understand why the grave warnings of reckless Tehrani drivers. All in all it was a wonderful trip though and I really enjoyed myself.

I followed you, Jeffrey! I am from South Korea.
I love traveling as you do. You can also visit my page and if you like my photo, please follow me!

안녕하세요! @slay 파로우해 주셔서 감사합니당!~ ㅋ

우왕.. 한국말 잘하시네요. I am so surprised! Thank you -3-

잘하기는여~ Stay tuned to my adventures!

Looking forward to travelling Iran one day, this looks amazing.

Totally worth a visit in yor lifetime! @freedomnation

Great work my dear I vote you

Thank you for the support @mahaelsayed

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61258.08
ETH 2873.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56