FOOD SOVEREIGNTY - WHAT IT MEANS TO ME

in #challenge5 years ago

I'll toss my thoughts in on this one.


Recently the @HomesteadersCoop on steemit offered up a challenge for steemians to share about "What are you doing to claim food sovereignty for yourself or your community, and why?"

After some reflection and contemplation, I decided to record an attempt at a coherent ramble, so hopefully it worked and people will understand what I'm up to and why. Basically, I believe that there is much wisdom in taking control of things as precious as your own food supply, and much of what is considered to be "food" is becoming increasingly compromised. Here, we want to first of all do it ourselves, and in the process, encourage, inspire, educate, and equip others to do the same. (I cover more in the vlog below.)

If you are interested in ready a recap on the challenge so far, check out this link.

"FOOD SOVEREIGNTY - WHAT IT MEANS TO ME" VIDEO

Until next time…

STEEMIT LIKE YOU MEAN IT!

Want to sell sustainable, handmade products in the Homesteaders Co-op?

Learn more and apply here

Visit the Pepper Family Homestead Store here!

Sort:  

Nice video. I was exposed to farm life as a child, but never been able to afford a return to it. I hope one day I will. I pay out the you know what for most of my food to be organic, free range etc but can't afford for it all to be. I remember watching a documentary years ago called Food.inc. Seems I remember one part a farmer was complaining about Monsanto seeds crossing his through pollination and it mutated his future crops (as well as got him sued by Monsanto for using their crops without paying). How do you prevent such a thing, or can you? It is evil they have made crops that produce insecticides as well as produce no seeds.

Yup and because the corporations own the patents they can sew the you know what out of them and possibly take their land. Horrible.

I totally agree. Many cereal crops are spread with roundup just before harvest to make it easier to harvest. How evil is that?

When it comes to heirloom seeds. Get the Italian one. Because the Italians are real picky about their food. They want only the best.

I'll look into the Italian ones then. Thanks!

Ahhh, awaiting the day the good Lord allows me to get more land and grow more of my own food. I will say the garden did get bigger last year and I also had to take a tree down, which will allow me to grow more now that what little yard I do have will now get more sun! Thanks for being an inspiration!

This is such a great idea and initiative. Each day it seems like the headlines provide us with another reason to be intimately close with where our food comes from. From chicken processed in China, to Round-up tainted wine..this makes sense from both an environmental and health perspective. Great video.

Thanks man! I appreciate you checking it out! The "side effects" are so amazing too, so little gets wasted here and so many negative things are cut back or even eliminated.

trust me...not even the news tells the whole story...industrial scale food production is very lifeless...

Nice video buddy, you nailed it! Upvoted!

I am a really great lover of vegetables even if I am not a vegetarian. Great colours in your photo and I can tell you that every day I dream to live in a farm with animals and fields with a lot of tomatoes, carrots and erbs. At the moment it is only a dream...I hope for the future😉👍
Congratulations to you to share this content with us and thanks to @c-squared for resteem this post. It Is always awesome take a look here😊
Have a nice Steem!!!

Posted using Partiko Android


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thanks for entering our challenge! I really enjoyed your video as well as a lot of the language you use, like being a steward of your children which is a very conscious way to describe parenthood.

Come to think of it, most of the people I know eat on a daily basis also! I appreciate that you are all about teaching others. You helped me realize that something as simple as walking out to the garden, grabbing food and cooking it right then is something that didn't used to be normal for me. Now that it has become a way of life, its important to remember that there are others that don't know that joy. I appreciate that your message is so full of desire to help others.

Loved hearing the jacob's sheep in the background and seeing more of your garden. It is apparent to myself, another gardener, how much work you are doing moving manure to all your beds, cleaning up last year's garden and working with the soil. And through it all you are so passionate about what you are doing! Keep up the great work @papa-pepper :)

I need to start growing my own food, at least it would be toxins and fertilizers free, especially tomatoes and spinach... I wonder if sweet potatoes can grow in my climate :/

I know next to 0 of growing food, any tips or places to search info in?

This post is sponsored and featured by @Appreciator in collaboration with @c-squared. Just keep up the good work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00