June 30 Days Writing Challenge - Life Hacks - Day Ten: Reboot Yourself with Shavasana

in #challenge30days6 years ago

Yesterday in my post for the #challenge30days initiated by @dragosroua I wrote about one life hack that I use very often when having a "heavy" meal to help my poor digestions work. Today I want to present to you a hack that I use when I'm taking a break during a hard working day or even after when the environment allows it.

This technique that I use to reboot myself is actually a Yoga pose/technique that anyone can practice it, almost anywhere, at any time and any age. Doesn't require special preparations or understandings, but a yoga mat or a blanket to lay comfortable on it. A thick carpet will do the job also :). It is also very important to do it in a quiet room with no one to disturb us and it is not recommended to use pillows or cushions.

The name of the Yoga technique for deep relaxation that I use very often and will present to you too also in this post is called Shavasana and it can be translated into English as the corpse pose. In order to execute it we need to lay down on the floor comfortably on our backs with our arms along the body while palms are oriented upwards and apart from it and legs apart from each other.

Should-Know-Before-Practicing-The-Asana.jpg
image source

Once we are in this posture we close our eyes and let go of anything that attracts our minds attention while being fully aware of our body and start relaxing it from the toes to the top of our head slowly, while breathing also slowly but deeply. We shall not fall asleep though as it is not the purpose of this technique, but rather enter into a deep relaxation state both mentally and physically. It should take about ten minutes to gradually relax all our body parts from our toes to the top of our head, gradually with no rush.

We can stay in that deep relaxation state for about 2-3 minutes and enjoy it and then roll to the left side with our eyes closed and stay like that for a minute before opening our eyes and coming "back to the world" while taking a few deep breaths. Then we can stand up and continue our work with a refreshed mind and body.

If Shavasana sparked your attention in giving yourself some reboots from time to time feel free to give it a try and share with us your thoughts. It's free, accessible and recommended to anyone at any age. There's absolutely no side effect of it besides the one of falling asleep and waking up after a hour or so... thus you can set a timer if you know yourself an easy sleeper so you don't forget your kids at school.

PS: If you like this writing challenge feel free to read the introductory post of Dragos and join the fun with your life hacks posts. If you find this dude cool enough why not check his steem.supply app and see when you will be paid and how high is your potential growth on the Steem platform. I would encourage you also to give him your witness vote as he "really witnesses" and cares about our favorite blogging platform.

Thanks for reading and wish you a great day!

Sort:  

We are all looking for a way to drain fatigue

Namaste Brother 🙏🏽

Namaste! Have a great Sunday!
How do you put these emojis? I want them too...

They are just part of my iphone software.

I tought you were putting them from browser. On mobile I can use them also 😁

I’m pretty much always on mobile. It’s my preferred device. Every blog post I write and post from this little iPhone. I use dictation some, but I also have quick little typing thumbs from so much experience. Plus...emojis 😆

Lucky you. I only reply to comments from my phone and write short posts. The rest of the time I'm stationary on my laptop 😁.

Hello. For digestion and avoid heartburn, it is also advisable to rest in the left lateral decubito position. Greetings.

Didn't know that. Thanks for the advice.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99