30 Days Challenge Fall 2018 - Day Twenty Six: Context Is Everything

This is the 26th day of my 30 days writing challenge, and, despite the fact that I was able to write every day (relatively) easy, I have a feeling that this one will be the most diverse and, yes, "challenging" writing challenges (pun intended) I ever got in.

The "challenging" part comes from the context.

Let me explain.

If you follow me closely on Steemit, you may safely skip this paragraph, but if you're not, keep reading: 26 days ago I left the city I was living in for (more or less) 28 years, and I moved to another one, in Spain. Just with my better half, @raluca, and 2 trolleys. That was it. I knew there will be bumps ahead, so I planned this challenge in advance, as a safety net for any unpredictable thing that may come up. I just wanted to stay accountable and to document the change. Luckily, most of the move went incredibly smooth. But there are still some tiny lose ends.

They are so subtle, that I can hardly explain them, but I'll try nevertheless.

We tend to define value in absolute terms. For instance, wealth: we think at people being wealthy if they are "worth a certain amount of money" (usually US dollars). Mark Zuckerberg is worth $50 billions (I don't know the exact number, I just made that up) so we know Mark is richer than a person who is worth only a bag of potatoes.

But, and here's where it gets interesting: this type of value is tied to a certain context. The "$50 billions worth" thing is related to a relatively civilized context, in which US dollars can be used to buy goods and services. On a desert island, without anything on it, Mark Zuckerberg will worth nothing. Zero. Nada. Zilch. But if on the same island there will be another man with just one bag of potatoes, he will be the king of the world. Mark will probably do whatever he can only to get some potatoes from that man.

Strange, isn't it?

I mean, the example was a bit forced, but the core of it is real: there is no intrinsic value out there, everything that we consider "valuable" is tied to a specific context.

And here is where I go back to my current situation. There were a few skills that were quite valuable in my former city, like knowing the best coffee shops to work, knowing all the places to eat, knowing how to get to any part of the city without even thinking about, and so on and so forth. Those skills are useless here. I have to readjust everything I knew to this new context. I have to re-evaluate all the coffee shops around, I have to learn my way around the city from scratch and so on and so forth.

And there is also the language. I understand 95% of Spanish (it's relatively similar to Romanian) but I barely speak it. Most of the time I resort to English (which seems to be spoken in the places I frequent, so that's ok).

It's also the social context. We knew nobody when we arrived. As lucky as we are, we literally bumped into a friend from Romania living here for about 2 months, but that was it. Apart from this connection, we're absolutely alone here.

And I didn't even touch on the social and legal insertion points, like residence status, tax paying and so on and so forth. I'm just dipping my toes in this part, for now.

So, I guess the main point of this article in the challenge is to understand that everything that we consider valuable, is valuable only in a certain context.

Like STEEM. It may seem that it's not very useful now, because in the current context, there's not too much adoption of it. There is a huge community, the project is solid, but still, compared with countries and continents which are using paper money, we're just a very tiny context.

But when that context will enlarge, when more and more people will get into this new form of payment (which I strongly believe will happen, sooner or later), I just want to be prepared.

I'm already adjusting to this future context.


Previous posts in the challenge:

Steem on!


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


Wanna know when you're getting paid?

I know the feeling. That's why I created steem.supply, an easy to use and accurate tool for calculating your Steemit rewards

It's free to use, but if you think this is a useful addition, I'd appreciate your witness vote.

Thank you!


Psst: new to Steemit? Start Here


Sort:  

Get pay in crypto for your work and stay away from taxes 😂...one challenge less :))) Good Luck !

Its cool that youre doing this writing challenge during such a major life shift! You will always be able to look back on this time and evoke powerful memories through your documentation here on the blockchain. Im glad it seems to be going smoothly.....I cant imagine trying to deal with legal paperwork in another language!!

Nice writing @dragosroua
Steem is still in infancy, will take time
Difficult to say hou much. I hope it happens sooner than later. The technology is there and people will adopt it.
I think steem would benefit from better marketing though.

any reason why SBD is trading about 25% higher than STEEM nowadays? ty

I guess SBD is keeping the peg, while STEEM is kinda losing its momentum...

Day 26! Nice post context is everything. I usually don't check Steem price very often...kind of wish I didn't just now :(

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99