30 Days Challenge Fall 2018 - Day Twenty Two: Things I Look For In A Coffee Shop, From A Digital Nomad Perspective

I've been working from coffee shops, as a digital nomad, long before it was cool. For more than 10 yeas, I guess. I worked for so long that, at some point, I had to write a book about being a digital nomad, but today's article, the 22nd of my 30 days challenge, won't be about that, as a whole.

It will be about something more specific, namely what exactly am I looking at when I'm choosing a coffee shop as a place to work from.

It's been a little over 3 weeks since we moved to Valencia, and for the last 2 of them, I had to work (I only took one week of vacation). So, not really wanting to start with a coworking space (although I plan to test a few, really soon) I was left with two options: work from home, or from a coffee shop. Ok, three options: work from home, from a coffee shop, or from a Starbucks.

I worked so long from Starbuckses that I got a strange feeling of belonging in that space. I worked in Starbuckses in Bucharest, Paris, London, in Tokyo, in Auckland, in Bangkok, in Hong Kong and in a few other cities. I got a little bit fed up with them, especially since they capped their internet access, so I don't use them unless I really have to, like some sort of last resort. Don't get me wrong, I enjoy working from a Starbucks, every once in a while, and I'm usually quite productive, but because they look and feel the same everywhere on this planet, I get this strange feeling that I never left. And sometimes I need to prove myself that I'm really in a different city.

So, back to coffee shops.

Valencia has a lot to offer in this area, but you have to be careful. Places that look "laptop friendly" may open only a few hours a day, while spaces in which they serve delicious food and look more or less shabby are way more suitable for the job. It all boils down to how they answer to my personal "score sheet".

Without further ado, let's see the questions on this "coffee shop as a workspace score sheet":

1. Do they have WiFi?

Is it free? Is it stable? That's fundamental. Without a "yes" here I can only use them as emergency places, for max 30 minutes to an hour, for work that can be done using my mobile phone hotspot.

2. Do they have power outlets?

How many? Are they placed near tables? This is also important, as without a "yes" here, my presence will be limited to a max of 3-4 hours. My laptop battery lasts for a good 5 hours, but I never drain it completely, I like to have some juice left for emergencies, or for charging my phone or power bank.

3. Is the space conducive to work?

This one is a bit more complex, but it's usually a combination between "not too noisy, interesting decorations, not too peoply but not too empty, good music". It's hard to shoot a "yes" at all of them, but even if I get 2 or 3, I consider the space to be conducive to work.

4. Is the staff friendly?

More often than not this is not really an issue, but I had a couple of situations in which I clashed with coffee shop owners who didn't want laptops on their tables. But, like I said, this seldom happens.

5. Is it close (from home, hotel, friend's place, etc)?

Surprisingly, I often look for a "no" to this question, simply because I love to explore. So, if the coffee shop is in a remote but exotic part of the city, it has more chances to host me than the one at the ground floor of the block where I live, that's for sure.

6. Can I meet interesting people?

I'm not a very social person (go figure!), but every once in a while I enjoy social interactions, so a coffee shop where I can meet interesting people usually scores higher.

So, that was it for today, and, oh, I hate to disappoint you, but this post wasn't written in a fancy coffee shop, but at home, under a comfy blanket, after enjoying a delicious dinner.

I hope you're at least getting the comfy blanket and the delicious dinner too!


Previous posts in the challenge:

Steem on!


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


Wanna know when you're getting paid?

I know the feeling. That's why I created steem.supply, an easy to use and accurate tool for calculating your Steemit rewards

It's free to use, but if you think this is a useful addition, I'd appreciate your witness vote.

Thank you!


Psst: new to Steemit? Start Here


Sort:  

I like the far and interesting vs close and convenient perspective :)
Day 22 ✅

Hope you’re having a pleasant experience hopping coffee shops.

Hey
Well. If mr. Samer here @red-rose then he will teach you how to choose a coffee shop to work within its boundry in the middle east... no hard feelings... as i know you are one of his best friends and i am just a friend taking care of his account..till he is recovered and returned back....but as i worked with him for 3 long funny years i can tell you how we would choose a coffee shop here in abu dhabi...
1.wifi ... must be
2.morocon girls to serve our table...yes true...
3.shisha or happily bubbly or moka with good flavors to smoke such as mint with grapes with plenty of vape or smoke
4.tv with access to footbal channels
5.nearby fast indian or fast arabic food for getting shawerma
6.dice table to play b4 we get into real work
7.again morocon girls to serve our table
8.cash in our pockets to pay for the stay... usually i pay and on kater stage we will have a fight in the flat at home fir the expenses. .normal between two broke men one from jordan and one from Bangladesh.
8.hot chocolate drinks for
In our stay in the coffee shop we use our laptop and 2 mobiles to steemit my friend.the fat guy and karack tea for me.... all night... then again nice morocon girls to serve us.
9.the final cost must not exceed in that night USD25 equivalent to AED90.

  1. WE go walking and we return walking to save taxi charges
    11.we visit the coffee shop on weekends or at most 3 times in a week. ..
    12..........again i pay and he is teaching me how to become a real civilized VIP person...

But now i feel lonely as mr. Samer is not here and i stopped going to the coffee shops... life is boring without this great engineer.

Resteemed on behalf of mr. Samer @red-rose

Woow is a lot of time to spend in a cafeteria but I would really like to do that at least once a week but it is a bit difficult but you are right with what you say about those things that you can not miss in a cafeteria and that you can find

In my country very little we have that culture of going to a cafeteria I think it is a little more common to see this in the capital of the country but lately it is something that is seldom seen this is also because of the deicuencia that there is the country you can not walk as well as with your laptop
I went to "coffee shops" I found it in a shopping center at an hour from where I live

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01