May 30 Days Writing Challenge - Day Seven: Name 3 Things That Must Be Done Immediately To Make Steemit.com A Better Experience

in #challenge30days6 years ago (edited)

I have been participating in this challenge by @dragosroua for the past few days and although there is no major prize like 1000 SBD that I often see some big names do its aim is to promote discussion and has made me think about what I do in Steemit and his latest is a question on what I would do to make Steemit better.

We see it every day, people complain that the system is broken, that people are reward pool raping, that people are not supporting minnows and it's harder and harder to grow stronger as opposed to a year ago. Hell! I have written about my complaints a number of times as well but aside from complaining what have we truly done?

image.png

Source

How could a minnow like me change things in an organization and platform as big as Steem? I don't have the megavests to move my preferred witnesses to the top spot, I don't have the ear of Steem Inc or @ned that he would heed my words, I have no whales backing me but what I have is myself and wanting to make a change.

Mahatma Gandhi fought racial segregation and liberty. He used a pacifist form of resistance to get his message across with discussions and sit-ins, combined with fasting.

Do I see myself as a Gandhi? I don't think so but it shows how one man's idea can form a movement by getting people involved. Steemit gave me a platform to voice out my concerns and ideas, I will be able to discuss and get people to listen, I may not turn everyone to my thinking but some people will see it my way and it can be the start of the change that we want to be.

So what are the 3 things that I think Steemit needs to become better?

Hivemind and Communities

Ever since this was announced I have wanted it to be deployed as soon as possible. I am a community-minded person and this is something that is lacking in Steemit, Sure most people would group themselves by nation, race, likes and beliefs all being run in Discord or Facebook groups to put it all together but Steemit should have that in place.

One of the things that makes Reddit work well even if to the uninitiated it looks like chaos is the fact that Reddit has Subreddits that cater to people who find like-minded people to interact, comment, discuss and yes troll.

I know Steem is only 2 years old but we have to learn from the best and integrate it into our platform.

Steem Moderators

Before I get crucified by the freedom fighters and anti-censorship people in the platform hear me out again. Reddit has Moderators and I was, in fact, a moderator in a subreddit group (yes I am such a nerd)

Having a moderator does not mean that I can silence anyone on a whim as there should be a reason and if I abuse my moderator permissions I can be called out to be removed and have someone else who has the good of the community.

I like how the subcommunities of Curie works that they have curators that go through specific tags like gaming, art, photography and reward content creators that give a smaller community vote. I have received those and it helps keep me motivated to write.

You also have SteemSTEM and Steemiteducation doing the same thing.

Community Delegations

Talking about SteemSTEM and Steemiteducation I have to wonder why these kinds of community-focused endeavors are not supported by Steem Inc. instead they would delegate to someone like

image.png
(I used the website by @ura-soul http://steemocean.com/voter/sweetsssj to show voter behavior)

I am not knocking off her achievements and being one of the pioneers of the platform and she and her travel blogs could have been seen by other people and made them look at Steemit and saw the dollar amount value under her post and said they wanted a piece of that pie.

She said it herself that she invited her family and upvote them. It is apparent with 65 accounts that she voted for from April 24 - May 1, 2018.

I am a minnow but I vote for more accounts that she does. She has the 2nd largest vote value in the platform and she got delegation from Steem Inc. Let me just let that sink in.

Okay, there is another person that Steem Inc gave delegation to.

image.png

Over a thousand different accounts upvoted for. Created the Steemgigs.org condenser and actively commenting, community building and dream making with Steemians. See the difference.

Steem Inc needs to be more careful who they entrust their delegations to. She may be a nice person but she is not what the Steem Community needs now. We need community builders and leaders who will make the platform better.

If we are to move to the next phase we need to be a social media platform that has engaged people, create content not necessarily exceptional Curie level standards but posts that have meaning to us and to other people.

Build connections, create relationships and make Steemit a place where we put our thoughts, dreams, plans, stories, reflections, art, music and philosophies in place. Create a place of truths and knowledge. One of that has use to the world.

That is how we make Steemit better for everyone.

ono-communityvolunteer.jpg

Footer by @ameliabartlett

SFL logo.png

I support @steemfreelancers

Centurion Mave.png

Click here for your Mannabase Income

Click here for your Kryptonia access for Superior Coins

Sort:  

I genuinely hope that Hivemind/Community actually does drop, first of all, and then second of all, is what we all think it's going to be. More like community, less like now.

I understand where you're going with moderators, and Community is suppose to allow for them. I just hope it's not needed beyond maybe keeping on topic. Using tags indiscriminately because they're popular not only shows a lack of understanding of how tags work, but a disregard for the entire tag system.

So, if you double down with a community about cars but have someone coming in regularly to talk about Listerine, I can see a moderator being of great use. And I suppose in some instances where a heated discussion carries on longer than needed and ends up off topic, a moderator would be useful there, too. But as you say, people probably won't respond well if the moderator ends up calling the shots and directing how discussions will go or what topics can be touched upon.

This delegation thing is pretty subjective. I have my own concerns about where official delegation goes, as opposed to a whale or someone else. Other than being pitched an idea an accepting it, I don't know how much vetting Steemit does with their delegations. Sometimes it seems like not very much.

At any rate, all of those are things that would help to make the experience on Steemit better.

Yes Glen I hope that Hivemind and Communities deliver to what it was promised.

Moderators will not just investigate tag abuse, but also mediate and look at the behavior of people.

Yeah I have been head scratching on the delegation thing.
Some of the delegations of Steem Inc went to Busy and dTube but others feels like it was done on a whim.

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue #132 (5/12/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

Thank you The Steem engine for featuring my post! Much Love and Appreciation!

Wow mav. I love this you can't stop to amaze me bro. You are exceptional and always motivation for everyone. I DM you a link you might show interest in please try to check it out.

Saw it man and it's a good thank you note from someone who Steemit has truly made a difference.

It was an inspiring story.

I bash the platform a lot too but never give any solutions.. Definitely a cool angle on a post. I didn't realize steem inc delegated a bunch to those people, I learned a lot for sure. What is the hivemind that you brought up? I don't think I have read anything about that.

It is an easy thing to bash it and sometimes we don't seem to be able to think of solutions. I have no solutions on 90% self voting but I frown upon it.

Yeah there are more people as well as applications and developers like Busy,org and Dtube. Dmania had at one point before it closed had delegation from Steemit Inc.

Hivemind (or “hive”) will power Communities on Steem, but that’s only one important use case. It’s designed to be a developer-friendly layer on top of the Steem blockchain that will enable any developer to access a database containing all the social information stored on the Steem blockchain without having to rely on minimalistic core blockchain APIs. As with all the software we release, hive is fully open source. It is our goal that everyone developing applications powered by Steem will want to take advantage of hive, so that a consistent user experience can be maintained across the growing ecosystem of Steem applications.

You can read more about it here https://steemit.com/steem/@steemitblog/update-communities-hivemind

all great suggestions and I would love to see them all come together

great points about those couple of users

Thank Jay and I think it is very important to fix these things for the future of Steem.

Yeah it is kinda unfair to her but the delegated power is expected to get a lot of people looking at what you do in the platform.

I do agree it has so much potential and some small changes could make such a big difference

I love this. You made me feel motivated. Sometimes I do believe I need to meet with whales to be successful on steemit. But from this you've made me have this independent nature. I just have to focus on myself and develop my self. I also appreciate your love and support which you do by helping others. This is the definition of success. A successful person always makes others successful. Lovely write up.

Hey thanks for the wonderful Comment. I know that it seems hard if you don't have any whale support and it does make things easier but there have been people who are successful on their own merits.

They connect, engage and build relationships and in the end they become builders and leaders.

Wow.. This is very impressive.... I will start applying this They connect, engage and build relationships and in the end they become builders and leaders.😀

This is an eye opener. Beside phishing, bots problems and spammers, seems like we have other problems as well. The real problem is that we dont have even a live support or anybody who can listen to you or try to change something. We need the whales to stop they wars and look at the real problems we are facing here :(
If everyone of them would upvotes 50 Minnows everyday, will make a big change here. We need more Dolphins than Whales or Minnows to have balance.

Task master has been running a post that tracks the ratio of minnows, dolphins and whales and for the past 4 months that he has been. Doing it the ratio has been growing slowly towards more minnows and dolphins .

Hive mind is coming and hope that it is what is was promised. He'll, I would be happy if when it was 50% working.

The community needs to come together not just to invite but to retain people.

I think I have checked some of his posts regarding that. Lately many things are going on here what makes everything really complicated. Lets hope for a better future :)

Thank you for sharing this Mave! I always love how you make communities and make it super interactive! I myself am a minnow but I feel like I don't have your loving touch to make things work! Keep it up!

Hehe oh Dawnee all it takes is the drive and no matter how small we are if we get people involved in a vision it will make a difference maybe not platform wide but at least in a part where you have influence.

I'll keep this in mind Mave! Keep on inspiring others! Aja!

I love your writing challenge today. I believe you are like Sir Terry. You share your voting power with everyone you think deserves an upvote.

By the way, why does Steemit Inc. would delegate a Steemian?

hehe thanks Loudetteiam I don't think I am anything like Terry haha he is just awesome and a wonderful human being.

Never really knew how Steem Inc. think of who to delegate to.

You got a 1.40% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @maverickinvictus!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99