You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: June 30 Days Writing Challenge - Life Hacks - Day Seven: Replacing Coffee in the Morning with Cold Showers

in #challenge30days6 years ago

Quite many also does a morning bath ... others a morning sauna. My granddad-in-law, our only remaining granddad, he has always been very healthy compared to his age, he always (at least in the summer time, probably not in the winter) started the day by jogging to the local river, having a bath and then jogging back again. He visited us in the northern Norway once, it was one of the warmest summers but still ... every morning he went jogging to a lake, I hadn't even thought the possibility of going there and swim there, for one thing it was too far away! And swimming in the northern Norway? Naah ... that's too cold.

I stopped drinking caffeine around two months ago.

Our family has always been very slow in the mornings, but for me it seems to have helped to get (several) children and to move south to Oslo, I'm much more of a morning person now than what I used to be ... and I tend to collapse in the late evenings. My biggest problem after stopping with coffee is the post-lunch-period, where I sometimes feel very drowsy. Office work by the computer, it's not much healthy.

Sort:  

Such an example like your granddad-in-law I have also from my grandmas village where we had a neighbor that lived up to 90 years old and worked his entire life in agriculture. From the end of May when the temperatures were starting to rise until September you would only saw him in the evening wearing a cotton shirt. Otherwise he would be on the fields wearing no shirt and working from sunrise to sunset. I never ate with him, but I am sure he only ate healthy food in that time as all the villagers used to. No chemicals, no coffee, no RedBulls. It was physical effort, zero stress involved and natural food that helped him live nine decades. Nowadays there's a lot of obesity, diabetes and many other diseases that eat us alive and the only ones guilty for that are ourselves. I am amazed by myself how many health conditions I have faced in three decades. Don't even imaging living 90 year, but as long as I can I will manage my health and discovered that very often the best treatments and health maintenance ways are too accessible, easy to have and cheap to even notice them. Take the example of water. Only drinking an enough amount of water in the morning and it's like you don't need coffee. I never had a sedentary work place, like in an office, but when I'm at my laptop at home for hours I feel its side effects.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62989.29
ETH 3048.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99