Challenging Myself - Learning How to solve a Masyu Puzzles

in #challenges6 years ago

My Goal - Learn How to solve a Masyu Puzzles and Solve the Daily Puzzle at https://www.kakuro-online.com/masyu/
Challange.jpg

At first look it seems a bit confusing but lets break it down.
Masyu is played on a rectangular grid of squares, some of which contain circles; each circle is either "white" (empty) or "black" (filled). The goal is to draw a single continuous non-intersecting loop that properly passes through all circled cells. The loop must "enter" each cell it passes through from the center of one of its four sides and "exit" from a different side; all turns are therefore 90 degrees.[1]

The two varieties of circle have differing requirements for how the loop must pass through them:

White circles must be traveled straight through, but the loop must turn in the previous and/or next cell in its path;
Black circles must be turned upon, but the loop must travel straight through the next and previous cells in its path.

all_steps_final.png

Even with this information I was still unsure how solving a puzzle worked so, I started simple by solving easy 5 x 5 puzzles

Day 2 Start.jpg

Day 2 Start solved.jpg

After learning the ropes I gradually increased the difficulty until the 5 x 5 puzzles were no longer a challenge. From there I started increasing the size of the puzzles until I reached and solved my first 10 x 10 puzzle.

1010.jpg

At that point I felt confident to attempt my goal and just wanted to jump in and wow, did I every get in over my head it took me about 45 mins to solve this puzzle along the way I made some huge mistakes and had to restart it a few times.

Here is my final result! Solved!!!

Day 2 Learn How Solve a Masyu Puzzle.jpg

Want to try some Masyu puzzles like the ones you saw here. https://www.kakuro-online.com/masyu/

Description from wiki - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Masyu

Masyu Puzzle Tutorial https://krazydad.com/masyu/tutorial/

Do you like this type of post? Want to see more? Have something I should challenge myself with? Leave a comment below.

Sort:  

Masyu are really fun to play with :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65231.30
ETH 2943.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66