Charitable deeds, let's crowd-fund for kids in Bangladesh, fruits and snacks every week, nr. 58

in #charity6 years ago

All liquid STEEM from this post will still go to the @SchoolForSDG4 project but the STEEM power will stay in my (@lindahas) account.

So, I think it is time to tell you. In ten days I have booked a flight. I will be moving to my aunt's place for around two months, until Christmas. And, with all the life changes that I have taken upon myself, I have also been on the road this September. I had no intention to go anywhere until the new year as I have already traveled to a lot of places this year but I and Jonas have decided to go in different directions. This last month here, in Germany, we are just spending some platonic travel time together and I am rarely home. However, I am still writing my weekly charity posts. Also, I am somehow always at home on Fridays so it is all working out.

Here is a recent post from @SchoolForSDG4

Also, @fundition is supporting our favorite charity school on the platform. Feel free to check out their page dedicated to @SchoolForSDG4 here

2018_09_13_at_3_19_56_PM.jpg

We have some, possibly and hopefully, great news. The boy that recently left school, Al-Amin, has returned back, from the village. Yes, that was fast and therefore I hope he did not miss much of the study material. This is the same boy that returned school books to Mohammed a while ago. If you remember one of my last posts, I praised him for it The family of Al-Amin left for a village on 27th of August but they turned around on the decision and now all of them are back in the city. The family is still looking for ways to survive but at least Al-Amin is going to receive education and, maybe with it, he will be able to make something great. He looks and seems to be a bright boy after all! Just yesterday Al-Amin went to Mohammed (@Azizbd) to ask for his old school books and readmission and now he will be joining his class once again!

Another great thing is the grapes. This week the fruit was these juicy dark wine fruits that I personally love to bits. As usual, the kids all look happy and I am so glad that the Weekly Fruit Program exists and offers a different fruit every week. When I was little, we did not have any sweets at home. My mom would buy them scarcely and sneak them in her bedroom secretly, then share them with me in moderate amounts. Those were the higher shelf sweets. I got more of the lollipops and such and when I started going to school I had a nice pocket money that I could spend on top of the lunch arranged at school but before that, I had much less of sugary stuff.

Why am I telling you this? Because before school, when I lived in the countryside and then at home, my sweets were fruits. Apples, plums, forest blueberries, raspberries. Everything that grew in the wild. I loved fruits and to this day I prefer them over sugary stuff. I hope the kids will feel the same. If not now (as a kid I craved sugar) then when they grow up.

You might remember that there were 3 Al-Amin's at my favorite charity school. This week it seems we are making a post about at least 2/3 of them. Another boy at school, named Al-Amin is receiving money from the school so he does not have to work and skip his studies. His family received the usual steemit support of 18.75 USD this week. That is a wage that Al-Amin would otherwise earn in a month, working manual labor job for around 10 hours a day. We, as a community, are supporting him financially for more than one year now. And so he can keep coming to school and hopefully make something great out of it in the future.

On 10th of September, the kids also got their study materials. Those are the books and supplies that are government given and required for an official school to operate. There will be exams that will take place and the kids will have a lot of things to do so I hope that the little ones will get going and become busy bees. I love the smiles on their faces and I hope they like school and learning new things. I am very proud of everything that we have been doing together, you and me, and the children. I will be back, next week, until then, feel free to follow @SchoolForSDG4 for any updates!


All the pictures are recent and provided by @azizbd, any questions about the project can be resolved with him, he will be happy to answer any questions if you are interested to help this project and have any idea about how to make it better. Heck, he will even get up at 4 AM just to talk to somebody about ideas. Here is a link to his steemit chat: https://steemit.chat/direct/azizbd

If you would like to contribute by making a post, you can contact Mohammed (@azizbd) and he will provide pictures for you, anyone spreading the word is welcome. The income from the post can be sent to @schoolforsdg4, if you think you deserve any Steem for your hard work making a post, keep a dime, even a small donation from your posts means a lot to those kids.

If you have any Steem to spare, donations are welcome. @schoolforsdg4 is where you want to send them.

If you can't spare any Steem, because I know everybody has their lives to live and expenses needed to be covered, a simple up vote is very much appreciated, a resteem is encouraged. :)

Not all funds from this post will go into the school account. The SP will stay on my account so if you want to leave maximum impact, head over to @SchoolForSDG4.

Wishing you an amazing day! Today, tomorrow, and forever.
Linda

Sort:  

I am so glad that Al-Amin is able to continue his schooling. Hopefully with it he can escape the difficult cycle of poverty! I wish his family well. <3

Thanks! I hope all of the kids at school get to have a better future. :)

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 24 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 5 SBD worth and should receive 152 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
The resteem was paid by @pusteblume
Check @resteembot's introduction post or the other great posts I already resteemed.

This post has received a 7.51 % upvote from @boomerang.


If you would like to support the educational community by delegating to @steemiteducation, please click on any of the following links. This will ensure that more teachers are supported on a daily basis.
100SP 200SP 300SP 400SP 500SP 750SP 1000SP 2000SP 3000SP 4000SP 5000SP 10,000SP 25,000SP

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61372.29
ETH 2888.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62