A Dollar A Day charitable giving project - looking for more good causes to donate too

in #charity6 years ago

The A Dollar A Day project has now made six daily donations totalling 80 SBD, the equivalent of US$ 270.

I was happy today to add @familyprotection as our sixth recipient.

The previous donations have gone to @schoolforsdg4 in Bangladesh, @thegreens in Cameroon, @tarc animal rescue centre in the USA, the @intrepidsurfer tree planting project in Peru and @papilloncharity in South Africa.

So far 11 steemians have contributed SBDs over the six days the project has been running.



My great thanks to @cecicastor, @cryptocurator, @deliberator, @eroche, @gmuxx, @goldendawne, @karenfoster, @mother2chicks, @starkerz and the latest recruit @vibeof100monkeys who have joined with me as daily SBD donators.

Thanks also to @hopehuggs who is supporting the project by giving daily donations directly to people in Venezuela.

Special thanks also to @eturnerx, @roxane and @starkerz for their generous upvotes on the project posts. These are being recycled back into enhancing the daily donations.

With the current levels of donations the A Dollar A Day project should be distributing the equivalent of US $1500 in the first month.

If anyone else would like to join in the project donating 1 SBD each day, even if only for a few days, it would be great to have you on board. Maybe we can get the monthly total up to US$2000 !


Looking for more projects to donate to

Although I have already found some great causes to make the daily donations to, and many of these will receive repeat donations, I am still on the look out for new projects to donate to.

I am particularly keen to find more small scale 'home-made' local projects where 10, 20, 30 SBD can make a significant impact.

If anyone is inspired and interested in doing 'good works' in their local community I would suggest taking a look at the small local ad hoc projects that people like @malos10 and his father @rapo, and @bigdude are doing in Venezuela.

They have helped local schools and orphanages, they have made arepas to feed hungry people in their community, and they have provided shoes and clothes to people who could not afford them.

These projects have been particularly effective because of the dire economic situation in Venezuela, but there are also similar 'self-starter' projects for example being done by @steemhelpinghand in Nigeria.

It would be great to see more projects like this being organised by steemians around the world.

This would be a terrific way to demonstrate the potential for steem to be used to support local communities.

If you are anywhere in the world and have an idea for a project in your local community please do contact me to see if A Dollar A Day can help.

I will also endeavour to put you in touch with any nearby Promo Steem Ambassadors who may be able to help as well.

If you have an idea or plan and are not sure about it feel free to message me on Discord @pennsif#9921.



If you know of any other good causes on steemit that we might donate to please let me know.

And if you would like to join the project by donating 1 SBD each day, for even a few days, do let me know.



You might also be interested in some of my other posts :


[ money image from pixabay - Creative Commons CC0 / other image from @schoolforsdg4 ]

Sort:  

Good stuff , giving back is all ways a good thing

Indeed it is. If you would like to join in the project, and donate SBDs even for a few days you would be most welcome.

thank-you for doing this!

You are welcome. And many thanks for your great support.

Great to be a part of this. The future of Steem and an example what communities can achieve together. 💯🐒

Thank you for joining in as a daily donator on the project - your support is very much appreciated.

Thank you for setting it up a true inspiration 💯🐒

This is great. So happy more people are jumping in to your charity donations, even if it is only for a couple of days. Every bit of steem dollars helps. Way to go @pennsif. ❤️🐓🐓

Thank you so much for your support for the project. I hope it will continue to grow as I find more good causes that can make good use of the donations.

I am so pleased you're adding support for @familyprotection.
If we can't protect the children in our own towns, we have no one to carry the bat... to help people in dev countries.

@familyprotection is an extremely worthwhile project to support.

You might also check out @treeplanter (and the humans behind it) as another tree planting program powered by Steem! :)

Yes! @treeplanter is working to do something really amazing I would definitely recommend.

Thank you - I will check out that project.

Great project! This can really make a difference! Hope it goes well.

Thank you very much for donating to the project.

I hope you enjoy your teaching in China.

good work! that's inspiring!!<3

Thank you. If you would like to support the project by donating SBDs even for a few days that would be most welcome.

What a fantastic idea! I found you on the familyprotection tag, I'll have to check out your other charitable places. Count me in for the next week of donations :) (Do I just send it to your account?)

That will be great thank you. If you send the 7 SBD for the week to my account @pennsif and mark it A Dollar A Day I will add it to the donations.

Goodmorning , I have a project on community service. I tried to add you on discord but couldn't, I will appreciate it more if you could message me on discord @simonmaven#3954 .
Thanks for inspiring me the more.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97