You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Care Package 4.0 is Complete and Ready for Distribution

in #charity6 years ago

Do homeless people really need chargers and something like that?
I thought it should be warm clothes, some food. I'm thinking what would I include to my own health package.

Sort:  

They need to be able to power their smartphones, so they can access public wifi, so they can put in job applications online. Very few businesses accept paper applications anymore. The packages do include food (Soylent) and a poncho and bivvy sack for warmth and protection from rain though. Fitting a set of clothes in there would be difficult, then there's the issue of gendered clothing, sizes, etc.

How about searching for potential jobs for homeless people in your region and looking at the whole situation. They might don't even have a smartphone.
So you can print information with tips and put it in the box. There will be info about places where they can find help, free food, shelter or temporary job.
I think it can help a lot.

Even spreading of those flyers with information can help much more than limited care packages (Just my thoughts, I'm not sure. You have much more experience with helping homeless people).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68316.98
ETH 3856.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65