Abandoned Babies Are Loved

in #charity7 years ago

I love doing volunteer work, I feel a sense of duty to do so. While I have volunteered for many organisations, my heart lies with children. When (after 5 years of trying to conceive) I was told that I have unexplained fertility - I had a strong urge to connect kids who had been abandoned (an unfortunately very common thing here in South Africa).

"All I wanted to do is mother a child and all any child wants is for someone to love them like only a mother can."

In some way I felt that we would connect. All I wanted to do is mother a child and all any child wants is for someone to love them like only a mother can. I found a Baby Home where I "fit". I would volunteer nearly every day and I grew extremely close to some of the babies. The children at this home all hand happy endings, and were adopted into families of their own. It was hard to say goodbye to children who you had helped care for as your own - but like mother's do, you do whats best for your child. 

The volunteer work opened my and my husbands eyes up to adoption, and through this we eventually became parents to our very own little boy - little did we know that this was God's plan for us all along! Since we brought or boy home, the time available for me to volunteer became minimal, I had a new little bundle to care for! Both my husband and I make it our focus to assist the babies homes around us when and where we can though - in the name of our son whom we love oh so very much!

"volunteer work opened my and my husbands eyes up to adoption"

Recently we were able to take some time off and help the Durban North Baby Home, here in South Africa, by digging a vegetable garden for them and donating vegetable seedlings. We really enjoyed this form of volunteering! The food we we planted would be used to feed little ones for years and years come.

HERE WE ARE GETTING OUR HANDS DIRTY

More About The Durban North Baby Home

This home for abandoned and orphaned babies us a Non Profit Organization that was started a few years ago by a woman called Jo and her husband. Like us, they had also adopted a child and this opened their hearts to the very sad cases of abandoned children in South Africa. They built a large nursery on to their own home. registered as legal foster parents and submitted their NPO application. They are currently housing 7 babies, all under the age of 3. 

When we visited the home we got to meet these beautiful kids. We got to see how well taken care of they are. Every need of theirs is met - most of all, they are LOVED. They are loved by their foster parents, the workers who assist at the home and by all the volunteers. They sweetie pies will stay at the home until such time that they are adopted by a family of their very own.

You can learn more about the Durban North Baby Home HERE

There is currently a huge crisis in Southern Africa where children, mostly babies, are being abandoned recklessly. Very sadly, 2 out of 3 of these abandoned children die, before being found and rehabilitated. There are a few organizations who are making it their sole purpose to educate the communities on family planning as well as options for unwanted pregnancies, with adoption being their encouragement. A number of hospitals have also but safe opening in walls (like a mail box) where mothers can place their babies if they want to remain unknown. This measure seems extreme, but rather this than the babies being placed on dumps - which is what is currently happening.

You can make a donation towards the Durban North Baby Home Here

Much Love - @sweetpea

Sort:  

This post was resteemed by @resteembot!
Good Luck!

Learn more about the @resteembot project in the introduction post.

That story really touched my heart. I hope I can get to help soon. Althought it seems like people is not paying much attention on charity topics in Steemit, I hope we get it to trending soon.
Me and some friends wanted to start a charity project in steemit that's why we created this account actually, if you could support us we would be really happy :)

Thank you for your comment and support, Steemit is an awesomenway to raise money for charity and to create a awareness. I have written a few posts for chairities and some of them did really well, so dont give up hope! I will definitly support you. Much love, @sweetpea

Then I will follow you to get the new charity posts when you write them and don't miss the opportunity to support them! :D

good post , humans need love and the love of a child is most fulfilling, their soft hands and cute laughter which lightens everyones mood or their tears which breaks ur heart and eachone trying to see whats wrong to get him to quiet down and smile. if i come to durban in the near future definitly would make stop to spend time with these little angels :-)

This is great I am resteeming it :) you doing a great job.

Thank you @dragonslayer109, greatly appreciate the support! I see the post has spread and created good awareness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61258.08
ETH 2873.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56