Am I ready for this?? Well it's too late now!!

in #charity5 years ago

IMG_20191005_073331.jpg

Has it come around already? Am I even ready for this? If it keeps raining will it be called off? Could I just pull a sicky?

Just a few of the questions running though my head this morning....

Cardiff-Half-Marathon-Master-Logo-1060x318.jpg

In just over 24hrs, the starting gun will go bang and then there will be no going back. Then it will just be me, my 80s power ballard playlist and my determination to drag my overweight, car-crash of a body around the 13.1mile course.

IMG_20191005_074139.jpg

The route takes runners past the capital’s most iconic landmarks with beautiful scenery and historic buildings. The predominately flat and fast course makes it ideal for beginners and elites.

The race starts outside Cardiff Castle and runners then head down past the Principality and Cardiff City Stadiums on the way to Penarth. They take in the glorious Penarth Marina before crossing the barrage and heading to Cardiff Bay. Runners run right through the heart of the bay taking in the Norwegian Church and Wales Millennium Centre.The course then heads towards the north of the city and runners will complete a loop of the beautiful Roath Park Lake before the grandstand finish in the heart of the city at the Civic Centre.

For a "virtual" tour of the course watch the VIMEO link below:

It looks so simple when you can watch it in just over 2 minutes....

What will keep me going, when my body tells me it's had enough, is the fact that I'm running for a great cause and a charity that has done so much for some of my loved ones, family and friend's.

Macmillan-featured-image.jpg

MACMILLAN cancer research

I have done some training and I suppose its gone OK! All along I've had a time of 2hrs in my head to complete the 13.1mile course, but there's been a change of plan. Someone else I know is running the half marathon for the first time and is very apprehensive and incredibly nervous about it. They've asked if I would be willing to "slow down" and shadow them and keep them motivated all the way around.

It's not asking much, only slowing down 20/30 second a mile. This will bring my predicated finish time to 2hrs 10min / 2hrs 15mins, still a very respectable time for a runner.

Why+Most+Runners+Don$!27t+Lose+Weight+620.jpg

I thought long and hard about this next part, and I wasn't going to ask. I have been collecting and raising money for the charity. If you would like to support me and the charity, it would mean so much -

Btc: 19QeQhprKusUmHADhBeM1pCY1bFfVhBwxb
Eth: 0x0F8c91919210f23079C0A01eF6A294D6a96C2c04
Ltc: LTTfe1DbYdAAFKydVoCgfUSdUDBB9jzVtW

I will also accept any cryptocurrency I can exchange with coinbase back to GBP sterling.

thank-you-760x400.jpg

Well, the nerves have already started to kick in.... Writing this blog has made it really sink in that it's happening and nothing I do now can improve my chances. Your support and words of encouragement will keep me going and will help me finish and bring in even more money for a great charity.

download.png

Sort:  

Good luck and have fun!

Fun!! Fun?? Hahahaha ill try my best 😉

I tip my hat!!

Let's wait and see if I finish it first... Lol. But I really do appreciate the support. Cheers

Good luck bro! And be safe, nothing is worth an injury so take as many walking breaks as needed. Remember finishing is the goal, not the time. I will be cheering you on from across the pond 😉

I'll be OK tomorrow. Not too worries about it. Having to slow down 30 seconds a mile will definitely make it so much easier

Good luck mate! I'll be thinking of you! Surely if they cancelled things everytime there was a bit of rain in Wales you'd never get anything done! ;)

All the best for your run and for your fundraising for MacMillan. Too bad it wasn't next Sunday. I might have been able to drop by to cheer you on. I will be in Welsh Wales visiting my family in Pembrokeshire!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97