How a WhatsApp chat gave birth to CV Bot

in #chatbots5 years ago

As a software developer, I am always short of time as there is always something to do — either reworking old codes to new releases or learning something new. So when a friend chats me up to say “hey Tim can you create a CV for me?”. It’s rude to to say “Yes I can, but I am not chanced”. So my reply is How soon do you need it?A week passes and the question drops again among my many unread chats. I have to do this — grudgingly I take the pains to ask over 20 questions, get the answers and paste in a word processor to create the CV.

Later that week, someone else asks the same “favour” again. Then I began to look for a way to automate the process. And after some days I decided to create the Chat bot using Telegram’s Bot API. However, along the way I decided to create it from scratch and learn some things along the way.

Webp.net-gifmaker (2).gif

I crafted a simple vision for the bot so that it will serve as a guide for the database schema which looked like this.

CV Bot is a bot that can chat with people asking them relevant information needed for a resume. At the end of the chat, they can preview how their resume will look using different templates and edit or download if satisfied.
HR and Recruitment Officers can use the API or database to search for and reach out to job-seekers that match their criteria.
Resume builders can use the bot API to create widgets, chat or applications for building resume by simply setting their pricing and a few options.
Till now this serves as the text on the About Page. However for the first version, I made a basic workable version and submitted it to https://www.producthunt.com   to see what the reviews will look like.

I am working on the technical article on how I built the CV Bot and what I learnt in the process. Special Thanks to FreeCodeCamp for the resources that I used to learn or reference most of the concepts that were either completely new to me or I needed to lookup.

P.s This article was first published on https://chatbotslife.com/how-a-whatsapp-chat-gave-birth-to-cv-bot-6b7cdf16d5ef

Sort:  

Congratulations @timchosen! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 10 posts. Your next target is to reach 20 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @timchosen! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

New japanese speaking community Steem Meetup badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66256.11
ETH 3036.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73