Food Review: Ski Queen Cheese

in #cheese6 years ago

There was a story a while ago about burning cheese truck that closed down a tunnel. The culprit was Nordic brown cheese. My friend and I stopped by a food store in the city that was known for having unusual foods and I saw Ski Queen, a Nordic style brown cheese (brunost). I immediately thought of the burning cheese truck and its fumes, so I bought it. It was very expensive and the cube was very small, but I had never seen it in the store before.

I had heard a lot of weird stuff about it online, like that it "tastes like lemons" and "sticks to the roof of your mouth". It doesn't. Its taste and texture is as if someone pureed cheddar cheese together with cream cheese. It's not really sweet or fudge-like either. When it sits out on the counter for a while the texture becomes like cream cheese but harder. You don't need the special cutter because you can just cut it with a butter knife.

I would buy it again but not at this price. I would pay the same amount as I pay for normal cheese, which is 2 or 3 dollars a pound. Otherwise, why bother when you can just mix cheddar and cream cheese together. It tastes like a pub cheese made with velveeta, but without the nuts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62623.58
ETH 3021.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72