You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Indias Oldest Shopping Mall | A Silent Spectator Of Its Own Decay

in #chennai6 years ago (edited)

It is such a bubble economy out there, Spencer plaza wasn’t the only thing that burned in 2008, so did retail. We put so much energy in our cell phones now we barely even need things.

Sort:  

So, so true. It's crazy how phones even run retail. We don't have the time, energy or enthusiasm to acrually go to a shop and buy something. Everything is order-able online. Sure, there's a convenience attached to it but I like going to the store and picking a nice scarf out. Or going to the local market to buy my weekly groceries.

I’m old school that way too! I also think our plans/apps are so expensive we just wear the same clothes more.

I feel like out of principle, we could help people keep their jobs as clerks etc. I was telling the cashier at the drug store the self-checkout is bad for jobs and she argued that wasn’t the case. That self-checkout customers constantly need help from a clerk. I don’t buy it one second, I think she was told to say that.

Yes! I agree. The only apps I use are for ride-sharing. I like doing the things that are part of my daily routine.

Oh the self check counter at the supermarket definitely needs no help. It's definitely true that a lot of the jobs will be taken over by technology soon. Like building watchmen. It's common for us here in India to have watchmen for the apartments. His job is mostly to ensure that no unknown people enter the house and to approve delivery, etc. Most of the watchmen are old men who need a job. I see this slowly becoming less of a necessity with state of the art security systems.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62449.43
ETH 3190.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81