Antique Chess Pieces

in #chess5 years ago

Today I found these wonderful antique chess pieces in a small shop in Walenstadt, a small and beautiful Swiss town with a lake.

uv7ng37xhe.jpg

This find is a great motivation for playing my next game. I like chess for its aesthetics (not just the pieces but also the positions and lines). And it also makes my friends happy because it is quite manageable to score a victory playing me.

Sort:  

I love Chess, in these days that here in my country we had no light for 6 days, and that was what entertained us jejeje. And this board and those pieces are beautiful. regards

Chess!!! I love the act of playing chess, but am not particularly funned of actually playing it. Chess is a good game though. It is for intelligent minds, so you must be an intelligent person @mariusfebruary. Chess!!!!

I also like to play chess. Sharing one picture of chessboard which is played in standing position. This picture was captured from one of my favorite places.

142705AB-7D62-4CD2-9367-88038F522310.jpeg

It's been a while since I played chess. I managed to qualify for the UK national championship first round from my school when I was 11 years old. I fancied my chances after wiping the floor with the schmucks in my school.

How quickly that changed when I was at the Nationals... I got destroyed in the 8 games played haha! Some seriously talented people there, using the text book manoeuvres, probably had me beaten before I even sat down at the table... Bubble burst, never played since 🤣

That does look like a lovely chess set though. Better than cheap plastic ones I learned the game with!

Posted using Partiko Android

National championship! Very cool. Playing someone who knows the opening tricks can be frustrating. Its sometimes worth loosing a piece just to get out of book (I do this unwillingly hahaha). Something seemingly unrelated comes to mind: I think this Elon Musk's goal when he tweets taking Tesla private ('funding secured') knowing that funding is not secured. He takes the speculators out of book, killing the short positions and the speculative long positions. Then he pays a fine ($20 M personal + $20 M for Tesla) but, perhaps, getting rid of some of the speculators is worth it.

That's a good tactic. If I get round to blowing the dust off my Chess board wisdom, it will be worth giving that a go but that was 20 years ago now. As long as games aren't over in 10 moves I'll count that as a victory haha!

Seems Elon Musk is playing a different game of chess altogether there! Very smart man, if you can afford the hit of 20M, life's good right?! Guess what he's doing is the equivalent of "staking" where the long term investment will pay off for all parties rather than those who were on the fence.

Posted using Partiko Android

Really delicate pieces. I play too from time to time Marius. Not an expert to be honest with you but it definitely sharpens the mind

wow looks great! I had a cheese many days ago and we played it happily!

wow, this is a unique type of chess that I have never seen

Grazie mille per il tuo Upvote 🙏

Posted using Partiko Messaging

Das ist wirklich ein wunderschönes Schachbrett. Solche Figuren hab ich noch nie gesehen. Danke für's teilen mit uns! LG

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63869.25
ETH 3055.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88