Home made chicken feeder.

in #chickens6 years ago

DSC_0039.JPG

As I have posted before I have pet chickens and I love and adore them. My only problem is that I leave too early for work to feed them in the morning and come home late to do the same. Now don't get the idea that I am a fowl friend and starve the poor girls: my daughter gives them the household scraps regularly and they have an abundance of food to forage, but I can miss the odd day here and there.

I order to remedy this situation I have re purposed an old 44 gallon into a big self filling feed tray.

DSC_0040.JPG

(Sorry I couldn't rotate this image for some reason).

I cut a mouth at the bottom with an angle grinder for the feed to escape, made an oval shaped floor to slope towards the mouth and connected a feed tray made out of chipboard to the sloped floor.

DSC_0041.JPG

Only took about an hour to make and now every time the pet food gets delivered I just need to top up the barrel.

Sort:  

good way to save money on food. i had 3 chickens and they eat so much food. little fattys. are they isa browns?

Yeah man, Isa Brown. They love to eat but we none of our food scraps go to the rubbish bin so that is sweet. I love being able to bypass paying for things :)

Haha yeah. Im suprised you brass is still alive. Chickens will turn a forrest to sand in days

We have very thick grass and they have a lot of space. I made it that way so there was less to mow :)

Haha lawn mower chickens. They must love having grass to run around in and find bugs

They seem pretty happy to me :)

Congratulations @bogglemcgee! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 70287.75
ETH 3955.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66