Operation Chicken Eviction: Getting My Broody Bird Out Of the Nest

in #chickens6 years ago

This hen is the unfriendliest chicken I've ever had the dispeasure of knowing. I got her along with one other about a year ago. The two look exactly the same, so the way I tell them apart is, the one that comes at me when I step into the chicken yard is this one.



rsz_downloadfile-39.jpg



She went broody several weeks ago. If I were going to pick a chicken to guard anything, it would be her. But the eggs she's guarding, I want them. And here's a little FYI: I'm a little scared of this chicken. So, egg collecting has become Adam's job. He ain't scurd, he's got this crazy tough rhino skin.

Well, I talked to this local chicken breeder, and he says he'll give me six fertilized eggs. She can set and hatch them, then she'll get off the nest. Sunday evening I went and picked up the eggs. He advises me to let the eggs sit over night to allow the embryos to settle, and put them under her in the morning. Sounds good.

Then I realize that I've got to face this chicken alone, because Adam will be at work. But I'm brave. I've got this. I just need some protection.



rsz_downloadfile-43.jpg



So now I have an extremely angry chicken and my blood pressure's up a little. But hopefully she hatches them. My next problem will be figuring out how to get rid of the roosters. :/

downloadfile-47.jpeg

Sotall Directory of Steemit Posts

Sotall Community Forums


All photos are mine, taken with my trusty Android. :)

Sort:  

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord
If you would like to opt out of receiving comments reply with STOP

We have two broodies right now and every single egg we get ends up under them. I've discovered I can just swiftly grab them by the nape of the neck (like a cat or a puppy) and get the eggs with the other hand. Since I've got the neck they can't reach out and peck me. They sound like dinosaurs!!!

They sound like dinosaurs!!!

😄 lol

I can get should of the others, this chick just scared me. I've gotta grow a pair.... 😏

🤣😂 I'm sorry, I shouldn't laugh should I? Perhaps you should get some gauntlets fashioned for you, then you'll be unflappable!

How did it go? Did you get the eggs under her safely?
I usually do things like that at night, because they're a bit sleepier and less inclined to peck wildly and break the egg you're trying to get under them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94