Retelling A Bit Of My ChildhoodsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #childhood7 years ago


Image Source


Just few days to my birthday and I feel like I just have to empty the bank of my mind. I may not have gotten to where I thought I would be today, but I have definitely in my own little, tiny ways achieved those things I also never dreamt of getting.


Retelling my childhood has been something I've always avoided, not wanting to hear anyone ask about it. This is not because of lack of things to say nor because it was too dark and awful than any other person's own. 


Childhood they say is: "the only time in our lives when insanity is not only permitted to us, but expected" Source


I grew up in the midst of 6 siblings: 4 elder brothers, a younger brother and a sweet little sister as the last born (definitely not the least). I remember mum coming home a particular Sunday with tears in her eyes, when asked why she was crying, she said: "A woman in church today called her shameless and sex-controlled woman"

Dad would shout at her and ask, "why will she call you such names? What have you been doing behind my back to warrant such rubbish talk from someone in the church"

And mum would cry harder and reply: "she said that I was sex-controlled because despite having so little to feed myself, I still open my legs to be impregnated by my husband to bring more rascals   to the already burdened world   and that I was  shameless because I go around with my hungry battalion shamelessly."

Our society frowns at women who gets pregnant before marriage, the same society screams at married  women who give birth to many children. 

I kept wondering... thinking... I just couldn't comprehend it... Was I really a burden? Is it really a stupid idea to give birth even when married? Was my birth  a mistake to my family? Well if not me, was any of my sibling a mistake just because they came as 4th... 6th or even 7th child?




I wouldn't say that growing up was easy, dad had his fault and of course everyone had his or hers, no one is perfect. Every other person in the family understood it, but I didn't.


I never really understood what responsibility was yet I knew it was bad when dad left home without giving mum money for our feeding. I knew my friend's dad wasn't like that, they fed well, had new clothes, paid their school fees on time. Then why couldn't my dad do that? 

Because of that, I and dad never agreed on anything other than a "good morning greeting" even our good night was filled with disagreement because most times, we had little or nothing to eat for dinner. I just kept comparing my father with others.


My mum would always tell me that my dad loved me dearly and that he wasn't happy when he couldn't provide for our needs. I saw it as a big lie, so I never appreciated him.


Mum and dad would shameless go out to borrow. They would borrow money for feeding, clothes, school fees, etc. Many times the people they borrowed money from would come banging at our door, raining abuses at my parent's inability to pay their debt. 


It wasn't a funny sight to behold. Through borrowing and selling petty things, mum and dad made sure we all went to school. I hated being sent home from school, or going to school without a lunch box like other kids but my parents still told me, if they shamelessly borrow to send me to school then I should shamelessly go through the school like my siblings and stop complaining... I did that... Like my siblings, year in year out...


By 2010... My parents just like every other parent, were able to train a lawyer and two marketers. With me and my other siblings still in school. 

July 2010, Dad passed away... Just when he was supposed to be appreciated and rewarded for everything.


From that moment, I could only regret not telling him am sorry when I offended him, I should have saw that even the smiles he gave in the face of hardships wasn't a mockery but just a way to show us that despite what life throws at us, we should find reasons to smile and stay positive. 


I wondered why he still loved me all the same despite how stubborn I was. With time I've come to believe this:


Children are knives, my mother once said. They don’t mean to, but they cut. And yet we cling to them, don’t we, we clasp them until the blood flows. Joanne Harris


On his last days... I tried to tell him all I should have told him all those years but it wasn't enough. I miss him. I'm miss him a lot. I miss the way he shouted at me when I was wrong, its only a true father that can do that. I missed that father- figure in my life. He wasn't rich but he knew how to protect his own.

Image source 


Today, my siblings and I stands as  graduates and the opposite of what society thought we would be!!! Am just grateful to God. He has been faithful and merciful despite my unfaithfulness.


Thanks for reading!!!
Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @changedbybookz to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Resteem1.gif

upvote this comment for our help.

Growing up was not easy in most families, even mine. Your dad just like mine died without reaping the fruit of his labor. Appreciate your mum . God will help all of us.Pls since its your story about growing up, not bad if you have one or two real pictures of you or family (my opinion anyway)

Congratulations @changedbybookz! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard and the Veterans on Steemit - The First Community Badge.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @changedbybookz! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68118.27
ETH 3793.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.46