Friends and Food

in #china7 years ago (edited)

Steem is a great global welcoming community. I live in California USA and when I visit China I am always sure to get to know the locals - I love making new friends and trying to new foods.

I recall landing in Beijing and immediately I was reminded of the city I was born in and grew up in, New York. The hustle and bustle - the fast pace had me immediately feel at home. I was struck by the connectedness of the humanity of people. There was for me a flow and a resonance of people being and working together. A black woman from New York all at home in a sea of people from Asia - a connectedness - a oneness - who would have imagined that!

071.jpg

My family is from the Caribbean and what is fascinating to me is finding both our cultures enjoy oxtail. Growing up we would have oxtail and white rice at least once a week which I often prepare for my husband who is from New Zealand! Oxtail is a dish my mother always prepares when we get together as a family for holidays. I love the vibe and the richness of the culture. The food is outstanding. I love the cuisine.

Hotel Jen.jpg

Even though I did not know the language I found I had no trouble communicating! Friendship, goodwill and smiles are universal! This was the first time I discovered communication was possible without language.

I love this Steemit community.

Sort:  

Congratulations @jeaninebould! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69746.86
ETH 3747.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80