Sort:  

In truth, it wasn't so bad until about a year ago. People have always had this ethnocentric dazhonghuazhuyi undertone, but until about this time last year there was still a sense of "you leave me alone and I'll leave you alone," or as the Chinese say, "ren bu fan wo, wo bu fan ren."
Even with the trade war, things didn't get openly hostile here... until the Chinese realized they were losing the trade war. That's when this Neo-Boxerist mentality went into overdrive.

Haven't got round to reading the rest of your situation yet, but I'd get out if I were you. Some things aren't worth it. There are plenty of options to teach English around Asia.

Oh, rest assured that getting out has been the plan for a long time. However, a combination of medical and financial reasons has conspired to make that difficult, and every time I think I have my exit plan, I hit another delay.
If you have some time, here're the four parts of the story up until now.
First
Second
Third
Fourth
And this article is the fifth installment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 64107.62
ETH 3101.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.12