You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Innocent Until Proven Foreign - Being Accused in China

in #china5 years ago (edited)

Great to hear from you again this morning @patriamreminisci. And learn the latest in your ongoing saga of "real" life in China vs. the propoganda to which we are typically subjected.

I am short of time this morning to comment further, but hopefully you will be "hearing" from others soon. I will get a more comprehensive reply written later ...

Until then, all the best to you and "keep fighting the good fight!"

Sort:  

I always appreciate knowing someone is at least reading all this.

Home now and coming back "in here" @patriamreminisci, I loved this ...

"You may rest well-assured that if I had gone on an anti-China speech, it would have been a great deal more colorful and eloquent than this nonsense."

... as you sound like a "kindred spirit" to me. Of course, there is no way to know until "the moment of truth," but this is how I would anticipate responding, if I were ever to find myself in a similar situation.

”The agency head looked nervous. "[Patriam], I-" "Tell them," I said, holding up my auditory translator, "or I will."

”And of course, when 60 minutes had passed, from my entrance into the classroom until my exit, not a single China-bashing speech had been made …”

”"So, I take it we are finished here?" I asked. "You're fired," was his answer.”

What a remarkable example of “justice” in China. And, I would imagine, in many other countries around the world …

Being about as American as you can get, I have long held a great deal of humble respect and appreciation for what our liberties here mean to us in our every day lives. Liberties that are (arguably, I am well aware …) under assault today as never before in our history.

“Innocent until proven guilty” is a cherished example that I fear far too many of us take for granted. Combined with due process of law and the burden of proof requirement being borne by the prosecution, it is a bulwark of safety and security against what you are describing for us in this post.

Well, I still hold out some hope that somehow, in some way, you are finally able to get some help from the right American sources, who can get your access to the funds on your debit card needed to restored, so you can secure your freedom ...

Thanks again for writing these posts!


P.S. By “under assault,” I have provided a recent example in my Reflections: Innocent until Proven Guilty! post. Just so happens to involve the highest court in the land ... If you choose to take the time to read it, I'd be interested in your reaction in light of what you are currently having to endure ...

I'll be certain of reading this, but as it appears to be an in-depth article it will have to wait until morning, as it is currently 1:15 AM here.
As for liberties being under assault today, on the one hand you're right, but on the other hand, even the eroded liberties in the West are still far superior to what is in place in draconian regimes lie the PRC, where even the concept of individual rights has never existed in anything more than name.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63410.49
ETH 3058.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99