Sweet Tooth Cravings – Salon Du Chocolat

in #chocolate6 years ago (edited)


After a long, typical day of being stuck in an office, I was feeling rather down and lazy. My appetite for dinner was just so-so as well, and I decided to skip it. Perhaps I was just extra affected by the mundane pace of my office life, wondering where this could possibly lead. The work is alright, the pay is fine, but I was definitely not satisfied and have been that way for quite some time. Nevertheless, I could never leave without claiming the year-end bonus I have worked so hard for this year.

Coincidentally, a friend of mine texted me saying she had sudden cravings for chocolate. My mood was instantly restored and I agreed to go get some with her immediately. Publika shopping gallery is known to be a food haven, aside from its few above average stores catering to the shopaholic tendencies of the upper class people. There were a handful of dessert places to choose from, but decided to try the nearest one located within the main block of the shopping gallery, Salon Du Chocolat.

The “salon” was a rather small shop with their tables located close to each other, which I personally did not fancy due to the lack of privacy. They had two tables with sofa chairs, which were already taken (how disappointing!) when we arrived, while others had the standard wooden chairs. The interior décor was quite frankly rather tasteless, and did not really suit the theme of a dessert shop. However, the snapshots of their desserts on the wall were a tiny little consolation to my disappointment.


Even so, something worth highlighting would be their display of three different types of chocolate fountains, namely dark, milk and white chocolate, by their main entrance, which I found very clever. It made the shop look more attractive and it definitely caught our eye almost instantly!

The menu was pretty thick, filled with a huge variety of chocolatey-goodness, but the prices were on the pretty high side. We have often heard others complain of ordering too much when it comes to chocolate desserts. Thus, to be on the safe side, we decided to ignore the glutton in us and order one standard chocolate crepe, costing RM18.00, and add on later if it was not enough. They let us have the option of choosing between the three chocolate types they had on display, and we decided to go with the standard milk chocolate.


It took slightly longer for them to serve us than we expected, but we dug in greedily anyway. I really think that they need to improve on their presentation as the chocolate “art” they did on the crepe using dark and milk chocolate, looked very unappetizing. The soft crepe and warm chocolate combination was perfect as it melted into our mouths with each bite. There were no sign of any dark or white chocolate taste as it was covered by the taste of the abundant milk chocolate. But I was fine with that.

I think it was a good thing we decided to share as when we finished the crepe, we both thought the amount was just right. We did not order any add-ons after. We did want to get some plain water located in the middle of the shop, but they told us they only served mineral water which had to be bought. That was a pretty big turn-off for me as serving plain water should be the very basic of any food places. Their demeanour towards us when we wanted water was not great either. I would say that this is only 5 over 10 out of my satisfaction level

Address: 29, Jalan Dutamas 1, Block C4, Level G2, Hartamas Heights, 50480 Kuala Lumpur
Hours: 11AM - 11PM
Phone: 014-222 6566

Posted from my blog with SteemPress

Sort:  

Damn, looks like a great place craving for chocolate! 😁

Your post has been manually curated by superoo7

You’ve been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Here are trending posts by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/trending/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61410.76
ETH 2867.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61