Uploading My Back Catalog To Choon and First Impressions

in #choon6 years ago

1480677_529739633789085_667386815_n.jpg

Over the past couple of days dabling on the platform, I've decided to go all in on Choon and give the platform an honest chance. I've made it no secret in my personal life how much disdain I have for Soundcloud (nearly 16,000 plays on my account and all I've gotten is the pleasure of paying them while receiving no compensation) and I'm willing to give any platform that can shake up the status quo a chance at this point.

So far, I like Choon. The streaming is simple. Uploading is easy and it provides a decent amount of features for something in Beta. However, there are definitely a few features that need to be implemented to take it seriously as a platform that I'd like to talk about here.

  • Analytics is an invaluable feature for many musicians for figuring out where their music is getting the most traction from. The lack of them is jarring. Merely being able to figure out where streams are coming from with simple geographic information would be an amazing feature that would completely negate me need to maintain a Soundcloud.
  • Commenting is essential as well. In theory, tips can be used this way, but it would be nice to see comments not hinging on this, though I do recognize that this could open things up for spam in a very bad way.

Screen Shot 2018-08-07 at 4.49.15 PM.png

Overall though, I'm very excited about the potential for the platform and I'll be uploading my whole back catalogue to it over the next couple of days. What has been particularly exciting is going though all my old techno releases. Turns out I have way less to be critical of concerning them now that I've gotten some space from them. I've been in a rut lately, but it legitimately inspiring remembering that it is all in my head and that maybe I'm more critical of my past than warranted.

Give me a follow on Choon if you are so inclined and check out some of the tunes I've been workin on over the years.

https://choon.co/artists/iamevilradio/

Sort:  

Been listening to your stuff and enjoying it: wasn't aware that choon was a crypto platform... what blockchain is it built on?
I REALLY like the upbeat "power" feel of "Prowler." It makes me want to jump on a Tron motorycle =p

The music isn't stored on the blockchain but the crypto currency they use (NOTES) is powered by Ethereum.

There was going to be a public ICO but they decided to cancel it and go the more traditional route.

They really seem to know what they are doing and they even released an industry first - playlist curators get paid too!

awesome, thanks for the information!

Your post was manually selected and voted for by @illuminati-inc (IINC) with support of @curie. About IINC: here. About Curie: here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86