A love letter to the one who comes after me by annie ejiofor

in #chris6 years ago

photogrid_1517818115873.jpg

Toward the end of last year, when I was making plans for 2018, I made a mental note to feature A Letter To The One Who Comes After Me in February. There was no order to the planning. It was a decision I made – and kept.

As the curtains drew in on January, an alarm went off in my head, “February is in 5 days!!!” I considered putting off the series to a later date, say March. This was not from a lack of preparation. It was simply panic.

I made the decision to write this letter in 2015 before my sister gained admission into the university. When she didn’t gain admission immediately, and instead had to do a one-year pre-degree program, I thought I had some extra time.

Still, I did not get to work.

While I delayed writing the letter, I knew it was a wise thing to at least write the synopsis of the letter.

In the first few months of her first year, I was able to develop three of the areas I wanted the letter to address. With my 2018 goal in mind, gradually and steadily, the letter began to rise to full stature.

Last week, I shared the first part. This week, aware that Valentine’s Day is around the corner, I decided to bring forward the area of love.

  1. Guard Your Heart

photo-1449495169669-7b118f960251
For out of it spring the issues of life.
A poem:

“As an apricot tree stands out in the forest, my lover stands above the young men in town.

All I want is to sit in his shade, to taste and savor his delicious love.

He took me home with him for a festive meal, but his eyes feasted on me!

Oh! Give me something refreshing to eat—and quickly! Apricots, raisins—anything. I’m about to faint with love!

His left hand cradles my head, and his right arm encircles my waist!

Oh, let me warn you, sisters in Jerusalem, by the gazelles, yes, by all the wild deer: Don’t excite love, don’t stir it up, until the time is ripe—and you’re ready.”

Song of Solomon 2:3‭-‬7 MSG

Another:

“Restless in bed and sleepless through the night, I longed for my lover.

I wanted him desperately. His absence was painful.

So I got up, went out and roved the city, hunting through streets and down alleys.

I wanted my lover in the worst way!

I looked high and low and didn’t find him.

And then the night watchmen found me as they patrolled the darkened city. “Have you seen my dear lost love?” I asked.

No sooner had I left them than I found him, found my dear lost love.

I threw my arms around him and held him tight, wouldn’t let him go until I had him home again, safe at home beside the fire.

Oh, let me warn you, sisters in Jerusalem, by the gazelles, yes, by all the wild deer: Don’t excite love, don’t stir it up, until the time is ripe—and you’re ready.”

Song of Solomon 3:1‭-‬5 MSG

The last:

“I wish you’d been my twin brother, sharing with me the breasts of my mother,

Playing outside in the street, kissing in plain view of everyone, and no one thinking anything of it.

I’d take you by the hand and bring you home where I was raised by my mother.

You’d drink my wine and kiss my cheeks.

Imagine! His left hand cradling my head, his right arm around my waist!

Oh, let me warn you, sisters in Jerusalem: Don’t excite love, don’t stir it up until the time is ripe—and you’re ready.”

Song of Solomon 8:1‭-‬4 MSG

Three times in the Songs of Solomon, the Shulammite woman charged young women not to awaken love until they are ready.

You are not ready when you ought to be studying. You are not ready when you ought to be discovering yourself. You are not ready when you are yet to understand your feelings, body, and emotions. You are not ready even though everyone around you is getting hooked, acting and feeling in love.

You are ready after you have understood your feelings, body, and emotions. After you are sure what you want out of life and in a relationship. You are ready when you are ready for marriage.

Don’t let nobody put pressure on you. Don’t put pressure on yourself either.

Oh, dear, and when you are ready and in waiting, do not forget:

“The right company exists: the kind that nurtures, shares your values, believes in your process, respects you and is going where you’re headed. Find it. Until you do, do not be afraid to be alone. Aloneness is better than compromise.” – Oreoluwa Fakorede on Medium

Giveaway:

A Heart♥Dictions Undated Planner

IMG_4252 IMG_20180207_130525_858
To enter the giveaway:

  1. Follow the blog by clicking the subscribe button below – if you aren’t already following.

  2. Share this post saying what you love about this blog and why others should follow this series.

Entry closes Sunday, 18th February, 11:59pm.

A winner will be randomly selected and announced on the last day of the series, 22nd February, on the blog. Should be based in Port Harcourt or Lagos or can take care of delivery charges outside these cities. The winner would receive their prize within one week of announcement. Good luck!

A toast to intentionality and goal smashing this year!

Love,

Annie.

Advertisements

Report this ad

Report this ad
SHARE THIS:
TwitterFacebook6Google

RELATED
A Letter To The One Who Comes After Me (Part 1)
In "Blog series"
January; Meeting Set Goals & The Rest Of 2018
In "Inspiration"
How Not To Give Up, Ever, Again.
In "Inspiration"

Published by annieejiofor
Christian. Medical doctor. Writer. Lover of great books and music. Passionate about children, women, Nigeria and Africa.
View all posts by annieejiofor
February 8, 2018
Blog series, Poem

#love, #TheLetterSeries, Giveaway, LoveIsInTheAir, Valentine'sDay

Post navigation
How To Keep Your Dreams Alive & Rekindle Them In Dark Times, Two Simple (& Effective) Ways
4 thoughts on “A Letter To The One Who Comes After Me, Part 2 ( And A Giveaway)”
Nwakudu Chima
February 8, 2018 at 11:14 pm
Don’t stirr up love when you are not ready. Its fire can consume irreparably.

Liked by 1 person

Reply
annieejiofor
February 8, 2018 at 11:18 pm
True!

Like

Reply
Nwakudu Chima
February 8, 2018 at 11:14 pm
Thanks. Annie.

Liked by 1 person

Reply
annieejiofor
February 8, 2018 at 11:18 pm
You’re welcome, Chima. Thanks for your wise comments, too.

Like

Reply
Leave a Reply
Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked

Nwakudu Chima

[email protected]

Post Comment
Notify me of new comments via email.

Advertisements

Report this ad
February 2018
M T W T F S S
« JAN

1   2   3   4

5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28
GET E-MAIL ALERTS ANY TIME WE MAKE A NEW POST

Enter your email address

Subscribe!

ARCHIVES
February 2018
January 2018
December 2017
October 2017
September 2017
August 2017
July 2017
Search for:
Search …
Search
BLOG STATS
1,343 hits
TWITTER

WORDPRESS.COM.

UP ↑

For more posts

https://annieejioforwrites.wordpress.com/2018/02/08/a-letter-to-the-one-who-comes-after-me-part-2-and-a-giveaway/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60837.81
ETH 2874.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62