I would like to be a doctor by annie Ejiofor

in #chris7 years ago

I was interacting with my favourite four-year-old when the following conversation ensued:

Child: You are a doctor?

Me: Yes.

Child: How?

Me: I went to school.

Child: And what?

Me: I read my books.

Child (still not satisfied): And what again?

Me: I passed my exams.

Child goes quiet, as though contemplating the information.

I break the silence and ask, “What do you want to be?”

He says he would like to be a doctor.

I smile and ask why.

He says, ‘to give people injection,’ pointing toward his buttocks and the back of his hand.

‘So, when they are sick they can be fine,’ I add. He nods affirmingly.

I’m awed by the simplicity of the process and how children can make complex things seem easy. Truly, that was all there was to it: Went to school, read, passed. Viola! 😉 And a little more of course – persistence, determination, diligence, you name it. But, I like how children see things. The way he sees it, he certainly thinks becoming a doctor is achievable – and it is. A certain philosopher is quoted saying: “Whatever is humanly conceivable, is humanly achievable.” I would second that with another popular saying: If you think you can or you think you cannot, either way you are right. Visit
https://annieejioforwrites.wordpress.com/2017/07/29/i-would-like-to-be-a-doctor/
boys-doctor-costume.jpg
for more inspiring stories
Or Hook up on Facebook: Anita Ejiofor.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61383.17
ETH 2915.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61