Well, actually ...

in #christain-trail6 years ago (edited)

source

How many things do you consider to be factual but is actually one of three alternatives?

  1. Not true anymore
  2. Not true at all
  3. Not the whole truth

I would like to share one of each with you.

Nine planets

Well, actually not any more.

Do you remember, "My Very Excellent Mother Just Served Us Nine Pizzas."?

It is a mnemonic device designed to help you remember the order of the planets, from closest to the sun to way out there. Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus (hee hee), Neptune, Pluto.

Well, actually it is not true anymore. The International Astronomical Union (IAU) decided that Pluto is now a dwarf planet and not a planet anymore. "My Very Excellent Mother Just Served Us Nine" just doesn't sound right, does it?

Diamonds are the hardest material in the world

Well, actually Wurtzite boron nitride and lonsdaleite are harder. Wurtzite boron nitride 18% harder and lonsdaleite 58% harder. Or so we think. Scientists have been unable to collect enough of these materials to confirm the results of simulated models. It is therefore unlikely to replace diamonds as a girl's best friend...

But can you imagine something that is 58% harder than diamonds?!?

God is on my side

Well, actually that may not be the whole truth.

What are you saying, you may ask!

Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid or terrified because of them, for the LORD your God goes with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you."
Deu 31:6 NIV

The LORD himself goes before you and will be with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged."
Deu 31:8 NIV

No one will be able to stand against you all the days of your life. As I was with Moses, so I will be with you; I will never leave you nor forsake you.
Jos 1:5 NIV

... God has said, "Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you."
Heb 13:5b NIV

God does not often repeat Himself. He must feel strongly about this one. How can anyone say, He is not on my side.

He is on your side. He showed His hand when He sent His Son for you while you wanted nothing to do with Him.He is not a neutral referee ensuring you obey the rules. He is on your team! For sure!

But what about when you are against Him? What about when you reject Him? I think life can get very complicated then.

Would it not be safer to say, I am on God's side? Would it not be wiser to say, Wherever God is, there I am? Is it not best to follow where He leads?

Instead of saying, Here I am. I got myself here. Now I need to convince God to come here too. I think it is much better to be able to say:

I am on God's side!

@reonlouw

Sort:  

Nice to see you are alright and having internet connection. I hope your family is ok too and you all have a great holiday. Be with God and enjoy! ☺

Yes, thank you @nexit. All is well. I'll be posting some pics tomorrow. We are having fun!

Dear @reonlouw,

Your concluding comment, "I am on God's side!" reminds me of a popular bumper sticker:

"God Is My Co-Pilot!"

When I see that bumper sticker, I am tempted to cry out to the driver, "Hey , dummy... Change seats!"

Shalom, Steven Sherman @lastdays

This post has received a 2.87 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @reonlouw.

sneaky-ninja-sword-xs.jpg
Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have just been defended with a 4.56% upvote!
I was summoned by @reonlouw. I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...

woosh
A portion of the proceeds from your bid was used in support of youarehope and tarc.

Abuse Policy
Rules
How to use Sneaky Ninja
How it works
Victim of grumpycat?

I've read that pluton might as well be called moon if it's not right.
thank you for your information
@kriptonia

Nice post, thanks for sharing!

@maryresp :)

The Old Testament quotes were about God talking to the Israelites when they were about to take the Promised Land. You really can't apply them to Christians today.

In Hebrews the writer is writing at a time when tens of thousands of Christians were being savagely murdered every year. Some burned to death or crucified. Others killed by wild animals in the arena along with their terrified children. Christian women were being systematically raped and murdered. So despite the incredible suffering of the early church at that time he still says that God will neither fail us nor forsake us. We know that no matter what happens to us that God will take us safely to heaven after we die. So when it comes to our eternal souls we know that God will never fail us nor forsake us.

Everything in our current science books are wrong. EVERYTHING!

In astrology, Pluto is a very important planet. Since astrology is a 5000 year old science, and modern astronomy is only a couple hundred years old... I am going to go with astrology.

Diamond never were a girls best friend. That was a marketing ploy, that has most of the women hoodwinked. Diamonds are a jewellers best friend, as in that the jeweller doesn't have to remove the diamond while polishing the metal around it. The diamond is harder than all the grit we use for polishing of gold and platinum.

God is not on your side.
All of those passages say that God will be by your side.
He will not forsake you, he will not leave you, even though you may stumble and fall (commit sins against yourself)

I do not know how anyone God is by your side, to God is on your side.
Using a justification that you are righteous, because God is on your side is a circular argument that is only in your mind.

Buddha has said that everyone can learn more about themselves and thus become closer to God.

He is on your side. He showed His hand when He sent His Son for you while you wanted nothing to do with Him.He is not a neutral referee ensuring you obey the rules. He is on your team! For sure!

Amen! I am on God's side

God sees us and caters our needs, nice post..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65035.33
ETH 2950.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66