You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Living by Faith - or living by lazy

in #christian-trail6 years ago

You said,

"When faith becomes authority - testimony of God is released, miracles are manifested, and the church is strengthened."

None of that is true. Faith doesn't become authority. Miracles aren't manifested.

No, faith isn't believing what you want to believe. On the contrary, the biblical standard for faith is much lower. We can't possibly know what God is going to do. Presuming otherwise doesn't make things happen unless God wants them to happen. Here are some genuine examples of faith:

(Hebrews 11:1 NIV) Now faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see.

(Hebrews 11:6 NIV) And without faith it is impossible to please God, because anyone who comes to him must believe that he exists and that he rewards those who earnestly seek him.

(Luke 5:12-13 NIV) While Jesus was in one of the towns, a man came along who was covered with leprosy. When he saw Jesus, he fell with his face to the ground and begged him, "Lord, if you are willing, you can make me clean." {13} Jesus reached out his hand and touched the man. "I am willing," he said. "Be clean!" And immediately the leprosy left him.

(Daniel 3:16-18 NIV) Shadrach, Meshach and Abednego replied to the king, "O Nebuchadnezzar, we do not need to defend ourselves before you in this matter. {17} If we are thrown into the blazing furnace, the God we serve is able to save us from it, and he will rescue us from your hand, O king. {18} But even if he does not, we want you to know, O king, that we will not serve your gods or worship the image of gold you have set up."

Sort:  

whats your take on Jesus commanding us to pray on earth as it is in heaven - or when paul says in 1 cor 2:6-16. I read a pretty clear invitation to know what Holy Spirit is doing and to function in partnership with Him. The process of faith is training my brain, emotions and body to get in line with the Spirit of God -

As I do, I actually see in partnership with God - His intentions come about. My faith then has become a place of authority. For example I have seen 100's of people with headaches healed, and I have helped tons of young people destroy depression in their lives. All of that has been a process for me of walking with the Lord and believing (engaging in faith) with things like Isaiah 61, or the Lord's prayer, or Romans 8:11, or Colossians 1:19-20 - these are a few of the promises God spoke to me which engaged my faith which in these two areas has now become authority.

I now am working on expanding my faith in other areas. As Hebrews 11 talks about.

I would also say taking things by presumption is incredibly dangerous and where lots of people get hurt, which I think is what you are referring to in the text in Daniel.

thoughts?

also I been meditating on the Fear of the Lord this morning...specifically Psalm 25:14 is rocking my world

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69054.54
ETH 3793.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70