Theological Word of the Day: Hermeneutics

in #christian-trail6 years ago (edited)

DISCLAIMER - The following is taken from the Christian Apologetics and Research Ministry Dictionary of Theology and does not necessarily reflect the view of myself. The Theological Word of the Day is strictly for educational purposes and research only.

HERMENEUTICS -

Hermeneutics is the science of interpretation. Theologically and biblically speaking, it is the means by which a person examines the Bible to determine what it means.

source

Sort:  

Thank you for defining this word. Most Christian scholars use hermeneutics to understand the scriptures to understand what they mean. But could they call the process something else?

Hermes, messenger of the gods. Folk etymology places the origin [of hermeneutics] with Hermes, the mythological Greek deity who was the 'messenger of the gods'. Besides being a mediator between the gods and between the gods and men, he led souls to the underworld upon death. Hermes was also considered to be the inventor of language and speech, an interpreter, a liar, a thief and a trickster. These multiple roles made Hermes an ideal representative figure for hermeneutics. Source

It's no wonder so many Christian scholars misunderstand the scriptures. Not that they are necessarily calling upon Hemes for their interpretation of the Bible, but they are applying a Greek mindset and false premises to the Holy Word that leads them to error. Their 'hermeneutics' is tricking them! @ironshield

The next word in the series is going to be exegesis, which is used interchangeably with hermeneutics. As far as interpreting scripture I prefer exegesis. I have noticed a lot of eisegesis (another word I will post) being used by many interpreting scripture. Though folk etymology would connect it to Hermes, I believe it is safe to refer to the science of interpretation as hermeneutics. Like you said, "not that they are necessarily calling upon Hermes for their interpretation of the Bible..." I do not feel threatened by its use as such. I do prefer the term exegesis though.

However, their "hermeneutics" could indeed be tricking them. Not because of the etymology of the word itself, but because of the "Greek mindset" you mention. That is a "can of worms" that we may have to open brother.

And don't get me wrong, I don't take the pagan origins of things lightly. However, I must choose my battles carefully and focus on that which the Holy Spirit directs me to wage war. I used to be bothered by the days of the week. When someone asks me, "hey, what day is it?" If I say Tuesday (Tiws'day), Wednesday (Wodens'day), Thursday (Thunars'day), or Friday (Friggas'day); I am announcing who's day it is. Those are Germanic Pagan gods! I used to serve those gods! Our Creator, YHWH, did not name the days after demons. Nor did He name the months after demons. Yet we say their names anyway. Did you know the Jews, after leaving Babylonian captivity, brought some of Babylon with them? Babylonian corruption exists today! Think about it. Look at the post-Babylonian Hebrew calendar. Tammuz?! Tammuz is the name of a Babylonian and Assyrian god (DEMON). And folks believe that to be YHWH's calendar? I don't think so. Our Heavenly Father would NOT use the name of a demon-god in His calendar. Right?

Anyway brother, I had no intention of being so wordy. I have a feeling that much of what you and I have mentioned here will come up again at a later time.

As always, Bless the Most High! May His light shine upon you and lead you in ALL things!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87