BIBLE DOCTRINE SURVEY - OTHER BIBLICAL DESCRIPTIONS OF GOD - NR 7

in #christian-trail6 years ago (edited)

BIBLE Study.jpg

I pray that the Holy Spirit will reveal all that we are going to do in this studies.
" 1 Cor 2: 10 But God has revealed them to us through His Spirit. For the Spirit searches all things, yes, the deep things of God."

If you want to know God to His full extent then I am inviting you to do this studies with me. We are studying other biblical descriptions of God whereby God reveals His character to us. Some would see this also as more of God's attributes.

GOD IS MERCIFUL

MEANING
Mercy is God compassionately withholding what we rightfully deserve because of our sin.

KEY VERSES

Psalm 25:6-7
Remember, O Lord, Your tender mercies and Your lovingkindnesses,
For they are from of old.
7 Do not remember the sins of my youth, nor my transgressions;
According to Your mercy remember me,
For Your goodness’ sake, O Lord.

Proverbs 28:13
He who covers his sins will not prosper,
But whoever confesses and forsakes them will have mercy.

Romans 9:14-18 What shall we say then? Is there unrighteousness with God? Certainly not! 15 For He says to Moses, “I will have mercy on whomever I will have mercy, and I will have compassion on whomever I will have compassion.”[f] 16 So then it is not of him who wills, nor of him who runs, but of God who shows mercy. 17 For the Scripture says to the Pharaoh, “For this very purpose I have raised you up, that I may show My power in you, and that My name may be declared in all the earth.”[g] 18 Therefore He has mercy on whom He wills, and whom He wills He hardens.

Ephesians 2:4 But God, who is rich in mercy, because of His great love with which He loved us,

Habakkuk 3:2
O Lord, I have heard Your speech and was afraid;
O Lord, revive Your work in the midst of the years!
In the midst of the years make it known;
In wrath remember mercy.

Titus 3:5 not by works of righteousness which we have done, but according to His mercy He saved us, through the washing of regeneration and renewing of the Holy Spirit,

EXPLANATION

  • Mercy is often translated in scripture as compassion.

  • When God chooses to act out of mercy no one can claim any personal credit or merit.

  • The two-fold motivation for forgiveness of sin is God's mercy and grace.

  • Mercy expresses an active choice by God.

ASSIGNMENT
What would happen to all men if God were not merciful? (this one is easy ;-))
Put your answer in the comments, if you participate I will send you a tip and 0.200 SBD to the best answer.

@warudo give the following answer for the previous assignment which was:
Why is it important that God be just? How is justice different from fairness?

Fairness is the quality of making judgments that are free from discrimination or manipulation. Justice is an action that is morally right and fair. I think the difference is that fairness is about having a proper perspective and justice is about having the right thing done. Someone who is fair is seen as just, but sometimes justice can be cruel and seem not fair. GOD IS JUST MEANS that He is fair and impartial. It also means that He hates the ill-treatment and oppression of people and of nature, which He has created. He hates lying, cheating, and other forms of mistreatment of others. The fact that God is just means that He can and will judge between right and wrong and He will administer justice in accordance with His standards.

I decided on his answer and send him 0.300 SBD. Thank you for all the other participants @maintain4real-eu, @praise-eu, @godwaves, @poimenpost and @elplaga. I will be sending a tip your way. I really appreciate everyone's participation.

I did this Bible School course more than 20 years ago over a period of 2 years, and it is now my privilege to share it with you. Next study: God is gracious!

Dr Dennis J. Mock: Bible training for church leadership, Bible Doctrine Survey, course no. 4
Scripture: https://www.biblegateway.com/passage - New King James Version

Elize10.jpg
@hope777

Sort:  

First of all I want to say thank you ma for the opportunity to learn God's word.
I will start from the definition of mercy quoting from you as I see it as the best for now as.. Mercy is God compassionately withholding what we rightfully deserve because of our sin.
And now to what would happen to men if God were not merciful, God thought can only be found his word and to what would will happen is found there as well. So what would have happened can be seen in Genesis chapter 6,the flood which is total destruction, secondly is in Genesis chapter 19, the destruction of Sodom and Gomorrah. Thank you.

@elplaga, thank you for commenting and participating in the assignment. Excellent answers.

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @kubbyelizabeth from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

If God Were Not Merciful, We Would Have No Hope.. merciful is treating people with kindness and forgiveness, not cruel or harsh, having or showing mercy, giving relief from suffering.. For God has consigned all men to disobedience, so that He may have mercy on them all.. Matthew 9:13 -: 'I desire mercy and not sacrifice.' For I did not come to call the righteous, but sinners, to repentance."God's Mercy is always granted to those who love the Lord and are willing to change through repentance and through the keeping of God's Law. Men are sinners, if not for his mercy, he would have ended the world, he guides us when we are unconscious and keep taking care of us.. Glory be to God, he's great and merciful

What you describe here is what Jesus did while on earth.

If God Were Not Merciful, We Would Have No Hope.. merciful is treating people with kindness and forgiveness, not cruel or harsh, having or showing mercy, giving relief from suffering..

God is merciful, indeed. For by His grace we've been saved.
Le's extend that same grace to those who are still walking in darkness and let us be reminded that none of us deserves salvation. It is only through the blood of Jesus that we're justified.

Amen to that @godwaves. We can only thank him daily for His mercy.

Thanks for the gift ma'am.. I really appreciate

If not for God mercy that made Him to send His begotten son to save John 3:16, Devill will continue to reign in the world, and this will lead to eternal suffering. The world will not be a safe place to live in. It is by His mercy that we have the hope of life everlasting, Joy everlasting and by His mercy, Devil (accuser of the brethren)is subdued and His host that were sent into the world...Halleluyah

Welcome to the Bible Study @ayoyemi. Yes, sending His son so that we can be saved was the pinnacle of God's mercy and love. Thank you for participating in the assignment!

If God weren't merciful unto us, all men would been tormented day by the day. God mercy saved us from the power of sin through Jesus Christ.

@hope777 gracias

Welcome to the Biblestudy @misterufem and participating in the assignment. For sure God's mercy saved us from the power of sin through the sacrificial death of Jesus on the cross!

What would happen to all men if God were not merciful? First I apologise to the group since I can't describe myself as someone who has studied the Bible. However, God has revealed much to me in dreams, visions, writers and odd experiences. These all led me to a deep relationship with the Book of Job. If God were not merciful, Job would not have been able to stand up from his ashes. If God were not merciful, we would not be here. He must in His endless Mind care enough for us, for me, to keep supplying intimations and love enough to endure.

Well @storytellingza, welcome to our Bible Study and thank you very much for participating. Since you said you have not read much of the Bible then here you can read scripture. It is wonderful that God reveals Himself to you in the way that He does, that makes you very special, but God's general revelation for all men He gave to us all in the Bible.

Thank you for your guidance. The Bible is dear to me and always supplies me with Wisdom. I grew up with Dutch Reformed Church regularity and read the Bible every night so it runs through me like a base layer painted in Afrikaans. When my moedertaal was replaced by English, I developed a love for the Christian mystics and almost feel that a part of me is a cloistered contemplative. I look forward to learning from you and your group. In Love.

To everybody in the group. I read through everything again. God bless you for bringing me home. I repent.

You put such praises in my heart for the wonderful God we serve, All glory and honour to him. He works with His spirit and through His word! If you repent there is joy in heaven, so the angels are rejoicing with God.

Luke 15:7 7 I say to you that likewise there will be more joy in heaven over one sinner who repents than over ninety-nine just persons who need no repentance.

Welcome my sister! Feel free to send me any questions that may arise in your new walk with God. If you follow this studies faithfully you will learn much about God. After God comes the doctrine of Jesus Christ our savior. I also grew up Dutch-Reformed! With you inclination towards the spiritual gifts of dreams, visions etc, I think you will feel welcome in a Charismatic Church. If you want to grow spiritually it is always a good idea to join a church and a small group. It is only a suggestion.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63159.84
ETH 2972.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57