Love, the RIGHT way | 1 Corinthians 13:4-7 (ESV)

in #christian-trail5 years ago (edited)

textgram_1554588128.png

I spent time today outside in the cold spring breeze, with my daughter, snuggling and talking.

As the cool breeze swirled around us, I offered my girl my sweater and told her about love. I explained how she deserves someone who treats her right, a gentle, generous, kind love.

The kind of love mankind was made for, and which fills us up.

The kind of love God offers each of us.

1 Corinthians 13:4-7 (ESV)

4 Love is patient and kind; love does not envy or boast; it is not arrogant 5 or rude. It does not insist on its own way; it is not irritable or resentful;[a] 6 it does not rejoice at wrongdoing, but rejoices with the truth. 7 Love bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things.

And as I shared this truth with my eldest daughter I couldn't help but think of my own harshness, how I sometimes speak with brash pride toward my little girl.

I know God loves this child more than I, and that though I am imperfect, I know God has begun a good work, that He will be faithful to complete in me. (Philippians 1:6)

Lord help me live the truth of your instruction, to trust in your ways...

Proverbs 15:1 (ESV)

15 A soft answer turns away wrath,
but a harsh word stirs up anger.

Father help me to hear your call and follow so that one day I might stand before you and hear those blessed words: "well done, good and faithful servant." (Matthew 25:21)

Thank you God that you are good, righteous amd faithful. Help me be more like your Son each day. I pray these things in Jesus mighty name, amen.

21PRtjKRXPQybj4WUXScWv5QPLninWRxfbcWNsx7SenD7FohQGHjXQwArXXTzVFUWevt59mPzYmbmkKpGYch6Jv6bJrbMyhXGyFeg2BxKEw4g2Jz3eNTn4wzqFGXAwiobzGfo2seZRzzPDzGYHz7pPG.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00