Powerful prayer

in #christian-trail7 years ago (edited)

I was reading the bible a few years ago and something really hit me. I feel I must share it with all of you.

I was reading John Chapter 17. This is the chapter where Jesus is praying for his disciples. He opens up his prayer by saying, "Father, the time has come..." That first line really struck me. What gave Jesus the right to tell the Father that it was time for something? I thought before that when praying to God you make your request and wait for whatever it is to be dispensed according to the timing only known to God... So what gives a man the right to tell God that the time has come for something? Well after pondering for some time, I came to the conclusion that the only thing that would enable Jesus to tell God that the time has arrived is that... well... He knew what time it was.

So, what time was it anyway? Well Jesus answered that question when he said "Glorify your Son, that your Son may Glorify you..." OK so it was time for God to Glorify Jesus. That's all very well and good, but it left me with another question... "Hugh?" Seriously, I was completely nonplussed. What does it mean to Glorify Jesus, and why is it so important that he repeated the word "Glory" at least 8 times in his prayer?

If we read a little further, we begin to see what glory really means. In Verse 4 Jesus says, I have brought you glory on earth by completing the work you gave me to do..." and again in verse 22 he says, "I have given them the Glory that you gave me that they me be one as we are one." From this we see that there is a relationship between this glory and purpose. Jesus never in this prayer mentioned glory without referring to the purpose with which to associate it. Reader, I submit to you that glory is the fulfillment of, and the capacity to fulfill purpose.

This revelation then opens up a whole new dimension of understanding for us. If we go back to Genesis, we see how God created man so that he will have dominion over the earth and everything therein. This is what inspired David to ask in Psalm 8:5 which reads You made him a little lower than God and crowned him with glory and honour..." We can now read this as You have made him a little lower than God, and crowned him with the capacity/propensity/ability/ authority to fulfill and pursue purpose... We can then go to John 1:14 and read it as "And the Word was made flesh, and dwelt among us (and we beheld the fulfillment of his purpose...)..."

Reader, if you want to give God glory in your life, don't go for the religious mumbo-jumbo we have grown to associate it with. Too many times, we say "To God be the glory" without even stopping to think about what that actually means. Reader, I just want to challenge you today... Whose purpose are you fulfilling? Are you giving God the glory in your life, or are you just out to get what you want done? Friend, l assure you that whatever plan you have for yourself, God's plan for you is way better.

If you don't know how to gain access to what God has for you, you can. It is not as complicated as one might think. John 1:12 says "To as many as have received [Jesus] gave he the power to become the sons of God" Romans 10:10 says " For with the heart man believeth unto righteousness; and with the mouth confession is made unto salvation..." If you want to begin afresh and give God glory

in your life just say this prayer with me:

Father, the time has come. I am tired of living this pointless life without you or the purpose that you have ordained for my life. I want to give you glory in everything that I do. I am sorry that l have sinned against you. But, father, I turn away from all those things now. Jesus, I believe that you are the son of God and that you came down from your throne in heaven and lived among men. I believe that you died so that I may be free from sin. I believe that you rose again on the third day and are alive today. Come into my heart and teach me to live the glory filled life. Thank you, Jesus, for hearing my prayer and setting me free... In Jesus' name I pray... and we all say AMEN

God Bless you
#christian-trail

Sort:  

Hi, welcome to Steemit!!

I am @botty and I give away free random upvotes and create free competitions with prizes.

Follow me for upcoming contests and a chance of a random free upvote, every 6 hours.

Keep on Steemin'

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66439.14
ETH 3005.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68