A New Name

in #christian-trail6 years ago

I have not told my readers on Steemit anything about the local church where I serve. This is actually quite strange since I am very proud of this church. We are an amazing bunch of people (yes, I am one of the amazing ones 😎) gathered around our love for God and a love for our community. Both these loves are expressed in so many acts of service in our community that it often astounds me.

We are positioned on the western side of Johannesburg in a very diverse community. On the one side, you will find a farming community with small farms, trout farms and game farms. It is rural and you will struggle to believe you are this close to a city like Johannesburg or basically in a city like Krugersdorp.

On another side, you will find shacktowns like Diepsloot and Video Centre. While some housing has been built by the government, the majority of people live in shacks and without indoor plumbing and electricity.

Yet, on another side, you will find gated communities like Featherbrooke Estate and Pinehaven Estate. These places are very luxurious and decidedly not for poor people.

All of the above can be found within a 10km radius from our church property. The amazing thing is that we have people from every sphere gathered together on a Sunday and during the week in Connect Groups. I truly love this community of people and the very special things that God is doing in us and through us. As I continue my journey here on Steemit I will be sharing more about the people, the projects and the challenges of this church.

You may wonder what the name of this amazing church is. Well, that is just the thing. This morning we announced to a small gathering of our people that a week from tomorrow the name of the church will be changed. It was met with great enthusiasm and I will be sharing about that in ten days or so. However, in this four-month process leading up to today, I discovered some trivia about names being changed. I want to share some of this trivia with you.

Did you know?

1. Mother Theresa used to be named Agnes Gonxha Bojaxhiu

2. Mickey Mouse started out as Mortimer Mouse

3. Google used to be known as Backrub

4. Nintendo was first known as Marafuku Company

5. Pepsi was first sold as Brad's Drink

6. Yahoo! used to be Jerry's Guide

Are you surprised by some of this? I was!

Do you know of any other famous international brands that changed their names successfully? Please share it with us here in comments. If you do not know of any, you can Backrub it. 😏

Sort:  

Good read once again. Thanks. @bon-nom

Change is very exciting! I’ve been going through a couple of changes the last 2 years and I must say that it’s been good to me.

Hi @reonlouw, do you have a name for your Church? How would you like to name your Church?

Hi @vipnata. We will be announcing the new name this coming Sunday. After that, I will be posting it here. I'm afraid you will have to wait a couple of days but I look forward to your response to the new name.

ок, thank you very much. i will have to wait...

Short of ideas will just have to backrub it...

😁 😁 😁

You're funny!

I never knew that before, your information is interesting.

OH it seems that you have managed your time wisely in all aspects...I appreciate that you are very active in your church and so with steemit.

I am very grateful that you can be part of something great in your community. May God bless your church more and more! God bless!

Very interesting information. I'm glad you have such good connections in your church. What a blessing and a way to give and take. I lived at the beach in California and there were poor kids 5 miles away that had never seen the ocean. A friend of mine used to organize schools trips for those kids to come to the beach for an afternoon.

I don't know about name changes, but the google thing is kind of creepy!

Thank you @fitinfun. I loved taking my kids to the sea the first time. Their joy and awe is a favourite memory. Your friend gave those kids an awesome gift!

The Google one also caught my attention.

This is great, I love Brad’s drink. We are so use to the names things are now we don’t even realize a different name use to be possible, this gave me a good laugh.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02