Is it fun?

in #christian-trail6 years ago

Original pic sourced from Pixabay

I live in Johannesburg, South Africa. We have the mildest weather in the world. It is never too cold nor too hot. It is just that the people who live here, do not know how great the weather is. We seem to always complain about the weather, imagining that we are not going to survive a winter at a freezing 7 degrees Celsius. Or that we will all melt in summer when we experience 30 degrees Celsius.

In my opinion right now, our biggest negative is the cost of connectivity. In a country where education is the key to unlocking a better future for everyone, easy and affordable connectivity could change the world for many.

However, things are changing fast and with uncapped fibre becoming a household option for the middle-class, more and more public spaces are making WiFi available to all comers. Shocking I know, for those of you living in countries where access to the internet is treated more like a basic human right than a luxury for the rich.

Why am I telling you this?

My family and I recently moved house. We did this about two weeks before fibre would have been installed in our previous place! And fibre had not yet been installed in our new neighbourhood...

My kids were devastated. All of their devices would once more be limited as to how much bandwidth they could consume. Once again we only had movies and series on discs to watch, of which we have watched every one repeatedly. (Paid and free channels in South Africa is just not worth it and it has been years since my television has been connected to either.)

Thus we are in limbo. No tv, no Netflix, no YouTube, no games requiring WiFi. All data available needs to be saved so that Dad can play on Steemit.

Again, why am I telling you all of this?

This is all to explain to you why I am currently watching a very old series. Late at night when the kids are in bed and my wife is half asleep, I get to watch an episode of Boston Legal (2004 - 2008). At this pace, it will last a long time and I may have fibre installed before I'm done.

For those of you too young to know or too old to remember, this series is an American comedy. The website describes it in the following way.

The Boston law firm Crane, Poole and Schmidt deals in the often high-priced world of civil litigation, where smarmy Alan Shore feels at home. Loose cannon Denny Crane has the run of the place, while other members of the firm try -- with often dismal results -- to keep him in check.

Alan Shore, played by James Spader is a morally challenged character with more flaws than strengths. His partner in crime is Denny Crane (William Shatner), a brilliant but ageing attorney struggling to come to terms with early-onset Alzheimers and the loneliness caused by a morally bankrupt life.

It is funny in an off-beat way and I'm laughing more often than what I am shaking my head. (Full disclosure: The pic above is neither of myself nor any of the characters in the series.)

For the last time, why am I telling you all this?

Well, in one episode Denny Crane and Alan Shore once again had gotten up to antics never expected from mature men or high-priced attorneys. Savouring the moment Denny concludes, "It is fun being me!"

He then turns to his best friend and asks, "Is it fun being you?"

Can I ask you the same question? Is it fun being you?

It should be! God had a lot of fun creating you. And He is very satisfied with His handiwork.

Zephaniah 3:17 speaks of a picture we do not often think of when we consider God's response to us. We mostly see God in a correcting or rebuking role, pointing His finger at the mistakes we feel we can hide from everyone else. Yes, He has all that insight and He knows what is best for us. We want Him to guide us but we often miss His joy in who He made us to be. Zephaniah lists three things He does.

  1. He takes delight in us.
  2. He rejoices over us.
  3. He sings over us.

Do you ever think of God responding like that to you? Often people become very conscious of their sin and their mistakes when they turn to Him. Or in prosperity-driven Africa or America, they become very conscious of their needs. God provided a solution to your sin, your mistakes and your needs 2000 years ago through the sacrifice Jesus made on the Cross of Calvary. The problem has a solution. Why should He agonize over it?

Rather, He takes delight in you. He rejoices over you. He sings over you.

If God, who knows you better than anyone, including you, delights in you, shouldn't you?

Is it fun being you? It should be! Just listen for God's song. Experience His delight!



@reonlouw
(My friends @rubelynmacion and @croxdragnel counselled me to be shorter. I'm working on it, I promise...)

Sort:  

Another South African on steemit! Awesome!

Awesome indeed!

To the question in your title, my Magic 8-Ball says:

It is certain

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.

As Your friends suggested, I am also joining their crew in suggesting to be shorter. Kryptonia: kcherukuri

Okay! Okay! 😁

Thank you for commenting. I take note. Is this one better @kcherukuri?
https://steemit.com/christian-trail/@reonlouw/i-m-a-dog-person

I wish you posted this last week. It would have helped. I was a bit stacked in the fact that my parents never really loved me or even liked me. I should have thought of Father loving me and finding joy in me.
Thanks for the reminder!
Kryptonia @nexit

Thank you @nexit for an honest and real response. I also wished I had posted this last week.

I hope we will share many more thoughts with one another here on Steemit.

I have to tell you what your gift did to me.
I am one of the lucky winners of your contest.
Because of it i started a little contest myself. It is a game and i intend to do it daily. Today is the 2nd day. I had the idea for a while, but is was your gift that made me start it.
Thanks again!
Have a look, via kryptonia will give some sup too, maybe you like it.

This post has received a 1.79 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @reonlouw.

What an honor to have the Almighty God sing over me! Great writeup! I enjoyed reading.......

But, I don't want to you right now. Hehehehe! I mean, I can't even remember anything that happened in that series. To top it all, no tv, no sufficient Internet data, no Netflix? Sorry, I will definitely pass on this one. Lol

That a youngster should feel pity for this old man. Oh, what has my life become... 😁

Thank you @ammyluv. I always enjoy interacting with you here.

Really fun. Kryptonia

Great post reonlow. I loved Boston Legal. I can picture the two characters sitting on the balcony enjoying a cigar and scotch at the end of the day. I appreciate your beliefs and you raise an interesting question. Something to ponder. Screenshot_20180620-112600~2.png
Visiting by way of Kryptonia

Thank you @the-witty-waiter. It makes sense that you enjoyed Denny and Alan. They were very witty.

You got a 6.72% upvote from @emperorofnaps courtesy of @reonlouw!

Want to promote your posts too? Send 0.05+ SBD or STEEM to @emperorofnaps to receive a share of a full upvote every 2.4 hours...Then go relax and take a nap!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60682.45
ETH 2903.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54