Lessons from Jonah 4

images (80).jpeg
Credit
Today I'm continuing our discourse from the book of Jonah. We're gleaning wisdom from the story because it was recorded for us to learn from. Quite a lot have been shared in the three earlier posts. Do take your time to go through them if you haven't.

In this post we're going a step further. I encourage you to contextualize the things you're learning from what I'm sharing. See how you can apply the wisdom you receive in your own life.

Jonah 2:1-2 (KJV)
1 Then Jonah prayed unto the LORD his God out of the fish's belly,
2 And said, I cried by reason of mine affliction unto the LORD, and he heard me; out of the belly of hell cried I, and thou heardest my voice.

Jonah 2:3-7 (Living Bible)
3 You threw me into the ocean depths; I sank down into the floods of waters and was covered by your wild and stormy waves.

4 Then I said, ‘O Lord, you have rejected me and cast me away. How shall I ever again see your holy Temple?’

5 “I sank beneath the waves, and death was very near. The waters closed above me; the seaweed wrapped itself around my head.

6 I went down to the bottoms of the mountains that rise from the ocean floor. I was locked out of life and imprisoned in the land of death. But, O Lord my God, you have snatched me from the yawning jaws of death!

7 “When I had lost all hope, I turned my thoughts once more to the Lord. And my earnest prayer went to you in your holy Temple.

The following take home lessons will make you a better person.

1. Many Hardships are Unnecessary. They Come because We Fail to Pray

Jonah's hardship was in a way self inflicted. He didn't have to wait till he got into the fish's belly before he started calling out to God.

He should have prayed this prayer early enough - while still on the ship.

Some hardships are unnecessary. We suffer some things because we wait for too long before we pray.

Notice that verse 2 says Jonah started praying and asking for help because of his affliction. Just imagine that.

He wasn't going to talk to God until he was overwhelmed by the harsh suffering.

Some believers don't pray till their suffering becomes unbearable. Meanwhile prayer would have averted such sufferings had those prayers been made early enough.

It's true that if you pray you won't be a prey.

The song writer said,
Oh, what peace we often forfeit,
Oh, what needless pain we bear,
All because we do not carry
Everything to God in prayer

2. God is a Compassionate and Loving Father.

Jonah sees his error, changes his mind about running away and cries out to God for help.

God always will come to the rescue of those who call out to Him.

You might have messed up real big and screwed things up so bad. I wish you didn't but you did.

Now though all hope isn't lost. God's compassion never fails.

To you He says, "Call upon Me and I will answer you! "

It's never too late to pray. It's never too late to call out for help. Right now you're just a prayer away from the help you need.

Sort:  

Dear friend! Next time also use #wafrica and follow @wafrica to get an upvote on your quality posts!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68279.01
ETH 3694.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65