Good Morning Devotion :-)❤️

in #christian-trail6 years ago (edited)

Godly Counsel

“This bread was hot from the ovens when we left. But now, as you can see, it is dry and moldy. These wineskins were new when we filled them, but now they are old and cracked. And our clothing and sandals are worn out from our long, hard trip.” So the Israelite leaders examined their bread, but they did not consult the Lord. Then Joshua went ahead and signed a peace treaty with them, and the leaders of Israel ratified their agreement with a binding oath. Three days later, the facts came out—these people of Gibeon lived nearby!Joshua 9:12-16

On the surface the evidence seemed to match the travelers’ story. Their wineskins were tattered, and their clothing and sandals were worn. Their bread was moldy. They certainly looked as if they had traveled a great distance. Their story seemed so authentic that the Israelite leaders entered into an unbreakable covenant with them. But the leaders had forgotten to seek the counsel of God before they signed on the dotted line. They realized too late that the men were deceitful, but they had no choice but to honor the covenant.

It’s not always easy to keep a promise, but it’s especially difficult to honor a promise gained through the deceitful actions of another. When you make an important decision, you may have a tendency to weigh the facts as you see them. It’s important to assess the reputation of an individual or organization. It’s advisable to pore over figures on a balance sheet or to check references. All of these things are wise, but don’t forget to seek the counsel of God, to ask for wisdom and discernment. Praying before you make important decisions can save you a great deal of trouble down the road.

WISE FATHER, you know what is best for me. You see what I cannot. Thank you for that check in my spirit that tells me to wait or not to do something at all. Help me to heed it. Thank you for the peace that floods my soul when I am taking a step in the right direction. I will turn to you first when making important decisions. Thank you for caring about the decisions in my life.

THOSE WHO ARE IN HEAVENLY PLACES SEE GOD’S COUNSELS IN WHAT TO THE WISDOM OF THE WORLD IS ARROGANT STUPIDITY.
Oswald Chambers (1874–1917)

(Source: from my friend's {@catietan} devotional materials)

We all need godly counsel and even if we are already at the verge of making our decisions final, we always need to have this kind of counsel before we do something. This morning, I was reminded by this devotion to be very careful in every decision that I make. These lines summarized it: "It’s not always easy to keep a promise, but it’s especially difficult to honor a promise gained through the deceitful actions of another. When you make an important decision, you may have a tendency to weigh the facts as you see them. It’s important to assess the reputation of an individual or organization. It’s advisable to pore over figures on a balance sheet or to check references. All of these things are wise, but don’t forget to seek the counsel of God, to ask for wisdom and discernment. Praying before you make important decisions can save you a great deal of trouble down the road."

Good morning my dear, sweet and grateful steemit family and friends. :-)❤️ This is short but very timely devotion to me and I hope that all of you will be reminded and blessed as well, in reading the scriptures. And may we always have the heart to pray this prayer: "WISE FATHER, you know what is best for me. You see what I cannot. Thank you for that check in my spirit that tells me to wait or not to do something at all. Help me to heed it. Thank you for the peace that floods my soul when I am taking a step in the right direction. I will turn to you first when making important decisions. Thank you for caring about the decisions in my life."

To God be all the glory and praise for having a friend who is so generous and consistent in sharing her devotion with me. God bless her more :-) <3

Thank you very much for your time and God bless :-)

I am @sashley a.k.a. shirleynpenalosa, a recipient of God's love, mercy and grace. ❤️

BlogPostImage
Image Source(direct link to img)

Have a blessed Summer month of April 2018 everyone :-)❤️

I am forever grateful to God every day of my life for giving me everything that I need and praise Him all the more for not giving me everything I want. To God be all the honor, praise and glory ❤️ :-)

@surpassinggoogle is such a generous person and has a very big heart for all of us here. Please support him as a witness by voting him at https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type in "steemgigs" at the first search box.


(Photo credits: from sir @surpassinggoogle's post footer)

If you want to give him witness voting decisions on your behalf, visit https://steemit.com/~witnesses again and type in "surpassinggoogle" in the second box as a proxy.

@paradise-found is a wonderful person, a very humble and generous encourager, let us also support him by voting and typing in "gratefulvibes" at the search box


(Photo credits: mam @sunnylife)

Other good witnesses to recommend:

@yabapmatt
@teamsteem
@bayanihan
@jerrybanfield
@hr1
@acidyo
@blocktrades
@curie
@beanz
@rcarter.witness
@reggaemuffin
@arcange

They need our support

Follow us on #gratefulvibes discord channel (positive and uplifting attitude)
https://discord.gg/7bvvJG


(logo created by @bloghound)

Sort:  

Goodmrng shir.. early devotion then post .. sharing His word.. keep it up..

Good morning, ms. cate God bless your heart mam and thank you see you around :-)

Great message.good morning.

Amen...thank you and God bless :-)

God bless you too

Love the message! God bless you my sweet sister!
Daddy William

Amen...God bless you more, Daddy William :-) Thank you and praying for you :-)

I appreciate your prayers and fellowship!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 69358.69
ETH 3688.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.30