Stoic, Epicurean and Christian!

in #christian6 years ago

Nations are built on the stoic mindset and destroyed by the epicurean mindset!

Stoics believe in delayed gratification.

Epicurean believe in "eat, drink for tomorrow we die."

The Word of God brings the Christian to a proper balance of life!

1 Cor 9:23 I do all things for the sake of the gospel, so that I may become a fellow partaker of it.
1 Cor 9:24 ¶ Do you not know that those who run in a race all run, but {only} one receives the prize? Run in such a way that you may win.
1 Cor 9:25 Everyone who competes in the games exercises self-control in all things. They then {do it} to receive a perishable wreath, but we an imperishable.
1 Cor 9:26 Therefore I run in such a way, as not without aim; I box in such a way, as not beating the air;
1 Cor 9:27 but I discipline my body and make it my slave, so that, after I have preached to others, I myself will not be disqualified.

1 Cor 15:32 If from human motives I fought with wild beasts at Ephesus, what does it profit me? If the dead are not raised, LET US EAT AND DRINK, FOR TOMORROW WE DIE.
1 Cor 15:33 Do not be deceived: "Bad company corrupts good morals."
1 Cor 15:34 Become sober-minded as you ought, and stop sinning; for some have no knowledge of God. I speak {this} to your shame.

1 Cor 15:50 ¶ Now I say this, brethren, that flesh and blood cannot inherit the kingdom of God; nor does the perishable inherit the imperishable.
1 Cor 15:51 Behold, I tell you a mystery; we will not all sleep, but we will all be changed,
1 Cor 15:52 in a moment, in the twinkling of an eye, at the last trumpet; for the trumpet will sound, and the dead will be raised imperishable, and we will be changed.
1 Cor 15:53 For this perishable must put on the imperishable, and this mortal must put on immortality.
1 Cor 15:54 But when this perishable will have put on the imperishable, and this mortal will have put on immortality, then will come about the saying that is written, "DEATH IS SWALLOWED UP in victory.
1 Cor 15:55 "O DEATH, WHERE IS YOUR VICTORY? O DEATH, WHERE IS YOUR STING?"
1 Cor 15:56 The sting of death is sin, and the power of sin is the law;
1 Cor 15:57 but thanks be to God, who gives us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ.
1 Cor 15:58 ¶ Therefore, my beloved brethren, be steadfast, immovable, always abounding in the work of the Lord, knowing that your toil is not {in} vain in the Lord.

There is the stoic way the epicurean way and the Christian way. Choose you this day! I love you all!!!
10356688_10209435080779105_5551397779528620032_n.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @beeman! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard and the Veterans on Steemit - The First Community Badge.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @beeman! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61757.83
ETH 2905.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62