ANCHOR (⚓) – NIFES’ Daily Devotional For Today

in #christianity6 years ago

image

Date: Tuesday 12th June, 2018.

Topic: Intimate

Bible Reading: John 10: 1–17 (The Holy Bible, English Standard Version®. Copyright 2016 © by Crossway Bibles.)

  1. “Truly, truly, I say to you, he who does not enter the sheepfold by the door but climbs in by another way, that man is a thief and a robber.

  2. But he who enters by the door is the shepherd of the sheep.

  3. To him the gatekeeper opens. The sheep hear his voice, and he calls his own sheep by name and leads them out.

  4. When he has brought out all his own, he goes before them, and the sheep follow him, for they know his voice.

  5. A stranger they will not follow, but they will flee from him, for they do not know the voice of strangers.”

  6. This figure of speech Jesus used with them, but they did not understand what he was saying to them.

  7. So Jesus again said to them, “Truly, truly, I say to you, I am the door of the sheep.

  8. All who came before me are thieves and robbers, but the sheep did not listen to them.

  9. I am the door. If anyone enters by me, he will be saved and will go in and out and find pasture.

  10. The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy. I came that they may have life and have it abundantly.

  11. I am the good shepherd. The good shepherd lays down his life for the sheep.

  12. He who is a hired hand and not a shepherd, who does not own the sheep, sees the wolf coming and leaves the sheep and flees, and the wolf snatches them and scatters them.

  13. He flees because he is a hired hand and cares nothing for the sheep.

  14. I am the good shepherd. I know my own and my own know me,

  15. just as the Father knows me and I know the Father; and I lay down my life for the sheep.

  16. And I have other sheep that are not of this fold. I must bring them also, and they will listen to my voice. So there will be one flock, one shepherd.

  17. For this reason the Father loves me, because I lay down my life that I may take it up again.

Word for Today: I am the good shepherd. I know my own and my own know me – v. 14.

Inspiring Commentary:

At the end of the Church service, several people were eager to shake hands with the President, including top functionaries. As one of the officiating ministers, I came quite close to him and watched as he greeted them. It was obvious he could barely tell who some of them were, it was rather dramatic, as he called some of them by their offices, some by their surnames, a few others by their first names, and finally just two by their full names. One of those two, he called a second time to send him on an errand. I was surprised at how he addressed that particular man and it reminded me of Jesus and the multitude that followed Him around.

Speaking to the Pharisees, He said, “My sheep know me and recognize my voice, just as I know them dearly” (John 10:14-15) (Writers paraphrase). He was indicating that only those who are intimate with Him, know His mind and plan, and are therefore prepared to actualize it faithfully, that can build with confidence and consecration (Romans 1:1). Intimacy grants us that privilege and passion, to pursue the project according to His plan and purpose, thereby giving Him pleasure.

How intimate are you with Him. How close are you to His Word? How much time do you spend with Him? (John 15:15). It is a long relationship that will grow gradually as you build.

Prayer: O Lord, create in me an uncommon hunger for your Word that will make me intimate with you, in Jesus name.

Sort:  

Great post! You've earned a 16.67% upvote from @dolphinbot
Join the DolphinBot Team for Daily Payouts in Steem! Click here: http://bit.ly/dolphinbot

You just received a 4.56% upvote from @honestbot, courtesy of @danoskie!
WaveSmall.gif

This post has been upvoted by @microbot with 2.1%!
You want higher upvotes?

Vote for my creator @isnochys as witness!

Did you know, that you can make some profit with your witness vote?
More profits? 100% Payout! Delegate some SteemPower to @microbot: 1 SP, 5 SP, 10 SP, custom amount
You like to bet and win 20x your bid? Have a look at @gtw and this description!

This post has been upvoted by @minibot with 3.4%!
You want higher upvotes?

Vote for my creator @isnochys as witness!

Did you know, that you can make some profit with your witness vote?
More profits? 100% Payout! Delegate some SteemPower to @minibot: 1 SP, 5 SP, 10 SP, custom amount
You like to bet and win 20x your bid? Have a look at @gtw and this description!

This post has been upvoted by @millibot with 7.6%!
You want higher upvotes?

Vote for my creator @isnochys as witness!

Did you know, that you can make some profit with your witness vote?
More profits? 100% Payout! Delegate some SteemPower to @millibot: 1 SP, 5 SP, 10 SP, custom amount
You like to bet and win 20x your bid? Have a look at @gtw and this description!

This post has been upvoted by @nanobot with 4.3%!
You want higher upvotes?

Vote for my creator @isnochys as witness!

Did you know, that you can make some profit with your witness vote?
More profits? 100% Payout! Delegate some SteemPower to @nanobot: 1 SP, 5 SP, 10 SP, custom amount
You like to bet and win 20x your bid? Have a look at @gtw and this description!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95