Can This Technique Help You to Become a More Effective Christian?

tool-3109557_640.png

Hebrews 11:1 says what faith is, and then it goes on in the rest of Chapter 11 to describe those in the Bible who were great people of faith. Some call this “The Hall of Faith”, a play on “The Hall of Fame”. Get it? Hmm...

But back to Hebrews 11:1. It says, “Now faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen.” (KJV) Isn’t this a definition of faith? I was thinking, “What if I inserted this into some verses that mention faith? Would it help to clarify some things for me?”

For instance, Hebrews 10:38 (KJV): “Now the just shall live by faith: but if any man draw back, my soul shall have no pleasure in him.” What if I were to insert Hebrews 11:1, like this:

“Now the just shall live by (“the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen”): but if any man draw back, my soul shall have no pleasure in him.” Do we as Christians really live this way? If we don’t, maybe we should strive to do so.

So does doing this help to clarify how the just are supposed to live?

I proposed this “technique” to a friend of mine who graduated from a major accredited seminary. He is also my Biblical Greek instructor. He thought it was interesting and bore consideration. I think I’ll call it a “verse drop”.

upload-2244780_640.png

What do you think? Does it help to clarify what faith could be in our lives? Can you think of any other verses in the Bible where we can apply this "verse drop" technique?

Sort:  

Actually I can. Rev. 1 starts out by defining that the written things are for all who read it. So it's message must by that definition mean that things mentioned there would happen in their lifetime. It's the key to successfully navigating the book.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for commenting @plemmons. Where's the "verse drop" technique that I discussed with what you mention, again?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70999.72
ETH 3678.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81