Who is Jesus Christ?

in #christianity6 years ago

Who exactly is Jesus Christ?
Is Jesus Christ God?
Where in the bible does Jesus Christ referred to himself as God?
What are the things or instances in the bible that shows Jesus Christ is not God?
So many Christians still confuse Jesus Christ for God.

image.jpeg
https://www.slideshare.net/mobile/boyvee/joshua-1-vs-8

It's really a slap on Gods face to be comparing Him with Jesus Christ. As great as Jesus Christ is, He's still very small compared to God.
The only being after God is God.
Fine, He's the son of God, but Him being referred to as God is not true.
If one reads the bible very well, and study all the works/ miracles Jesus Christ performed, He always pray before doing them.
The question is, who is He praying to?
If truly He's God, does He need praying to anyone or anything?
According to the dictionary, God means
(in Christianity and other monotheistic religions) the creator and ruler of the universe and source of all moral authority; THE SUPREME BEING.
The Almighty, Supreme being doesn't have anything greater, so for Jesus Christ to pray to His father (the Supreme Being), it shows that there is something or someone greater than His.
A good example of one of Jesus's miracles is the raising from dead of Lazarus John 11:1-44, from verse 41-43,
41 Then they took away the stone from the place where the dead was laid. And Jesus lifted up his eyes, and said, Father, I thank thee that thou hast heard me.
42 And I knew that thou hearest me always: but because of the people which stand by I said it, that they may believe that thou hast sent me.
43 And when he thus had spoken, he cried with a loud voice, Lazarus, come forth.
Jesus Christ prayed.

According to John 14:6 Jesus saith unto him, I am the way, the truth, and the life: no man cometh unto the FATHER, but by me.
Father is referring to a more supreme Being (GOD), to show Jesus Christ has someone He looks up to.
Matthew 3:17 says
And lo a voice from heaven, saying, This is my beloved Son, in whom I am well pleased.
My beloved son, nothing more.

The issue with majority of Christians is that they hardly read their bibles, they prefer their pastors to read and interpret it for them, but the pastor will only interpret it as he understands it, but there can be more than 50 interpretations to just a particular bible verse.
The bible says Study to shew thyself approved unto God, a workman that needeth not to be ashamed, rightly dividing the word of truth
and also
This book of the law shall not depart out of thy mouth; but thou shalt meditate therein day and night, that thou mayest observe to do according to all that is written therein: for then thou shalt make thy way prosperous, and then thou shalt have good success.
The only thing one needs is the Holy Spirit to interpret, teach and remind us what we've read.
May God bless everyone of us.
Have a great day ahead.
Jesus loves you.

Sort:  

Jesus is God. If you read your whole Bible you'd already know that. Let's look at just a few verses on the subject:

(Isaiah 9:6 NIV) For to us a child is born, to us a son is given, and the government will be on his shoulders. And he will be called Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace.

(John 14:6-11 NIV) Jesus answered, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me. {7} If you really knew me, you would know my Father as well. From now on, you do know him and have seen him." {8} Philip said, "Lord, show us the Father and that will be enough for us." {9} Jesus answered: "Don't you know me, Philip, even after I have been among you such a long time? Anyone who has seen me has seen the Father. How can you say, 'Show us the Father'? {10} Don't you believe that I am in the Father, and that the Father is in me? The words I say to you are not just my own. Rather, it is the Father, living in me, who is doing his work. {11} Believe me when I say that I am in the Father and the Father is in me; or at least believe on the evidence of the miracles themselves.

(John 1:1-18 NIV) In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. {2} He was with God in the beginning. {3} Through him all things were made; without him nothing was made that has been made. {4} In him was life, and that life was the light of men. {5} The light shines in the darkness, but the darkness has not understood it. {6} There came a man who was sent from God; his name was John. {7} He came as a witness to testify concerning that light, so that through him all men might believe. {8} He himself was not the light; he came only as a witness to the light. {9} The true light that gives light to every man was coming into the world. {10} He was in the world, and though the world was made through him, the world did not recognize him. {11} He came to that which was his own, but his own did not receive him. {12} Yet to all who received him, to those who believed in his name, he gave the right to become children of God-- {13} children born not of natural descent, nor of human decision or a husband's will, but born of God. {14} The Word became flesh and made his dwelling among us. We have seen his glory, the glory of the One and Only, who came from the Father, full of grace and truth. {15} John testifies concerning him. He cries out, saying, "This was he of whom I said, 'He who comes after me has surpassed me because he was before me.'" {16} From the fullness of his grace we have all received one blessing after another. {17} For the law was given through Moses; grace and truth came through Jesus Christ. {18} No one has ever seen God, but God the One and Only, who is at the Father's side, has made him known.

(Daniel 7:13-14 NIV) "In my vision at night I looked, and there before me was one like a son of man, coming with the clouds of heaven. He approached the Ancient of Days and was led into his presence. {14} He was given authority, glory and sovereign power; all peoples, nations and men of every language worshiped him. His dominion is an everlasting dominion that will not pass away, and his kingdom is one that will never be destroyed.

(John 17:4-5 NIV) I have brought you glory on earth by completing the work you gave me to do. {5} And now, Father, glorify me in your presence with the glory I had with you before the world began.

(John 8:56-58 NIV) Your father Abraham rejoiced at the thought of seeing my day; he saw it and was glad." {57} "You are not yet fifty years old," the Jews said to him, "and you have seen Abraham!" {58} "I tell you the truth," Jesus answered, "before Abraham was born, I am!"

(Psalms 72:1-8 NIV) Of Solomon. Endow the king with your justice, O God, the royal son with your righteousness. {2} He will judge your people in righteousness, your afflicted ones with justice. {3} The mountains will bring prosperity to the people, the hills the fruit of righteousness. {4} He will defend the afflicted among the people and save the children of the needy; he will crush the oppressor. {5} He will endure as long as the sun, as long as the moon, through all generations. {6} He will be like rain falling on a mown field, like showers watering the earth. {7} In his days the righteous will flourish; prosperity will abound till the moon is no more. {8} He will rule from sea to sea and from the River to the ends of the earth.

(Hebrews 1:1-8 NIV) In the past God spoke to our forefathers through the prophets at many times and in various ways, {2} but in these last days he has spoken to us by his Son, whom he appointed heir of all things, and through whom he made the universe. {3} The Son is the radiance of God's glory and the exact representation of his being, sustaining all things by his powerful word. After he had provided purification for sins, he sat down at the right hand of the Majesty in heaven. {4} So he became as much superior to the angels as the name he has inherited is superior to theirs. {5} For to which of the angels did God ever say, "You are my Son; today I have become your Father " ? Or again, "I will be his Father, and he will be my Son"? {6} And again, when God brings his firstborn into the world, he says, "Let all God's angels worship him." {7} In speaking of the angels he says, "He makes his angels winds, his servants flames of fire." {8} But about the Son he says, "Your throne, O God, will last for ever and ever, and righteousness will be the scepter of your kingdom.

I am the way the truth and the life, no one cometh to the FATHER, except through me.
According to this passage, who is the FATHER that's being referred to?
Read through all the bible passages that Jesus did one miracle or the other, don't you notice He always pray?
But if He's God, who is he praying to?
Is God supposed to have God too?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61143.11
ETH 2928.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56