What Is The Meaning of Success to You?

in #christianity6 years ago

The media has defined success as having power and money. You see it everywhere in commercials, movies, TV shows, etc... I believe as one gets old and more mature, the definition of success becomes more personal and relatable. Here are some examples of how some people define success:

key-success-factors-entrepreneur-1280x410.jpg

  1. Being healthy when you're 60 and older
  2. Being self-employed or owning your own business
  3. Having a stable job, living in the suburbs, and having a family
  4. Having a family that loves and care for you
  5. Being able to travel around the world
  6. Helping others personally, through charity or organization
  7. Having your kids grow up and turn out great
  8. Climbing the corporate ladder in a consistent speed
  9. Being debt free
  10. Changing the world through an invention or service
  11. And many more...

outstanding-success-stories-thumb.png

For me, success is changing the world by starting at the root of it all. That is by training up my children in the ways of the Lord so they won't depart from it when they're older (Proverbs 22:6). In turn, they'll be like a little army changing the world by repeating the same steps, sharing the Word, and by making disciples for the Lord. Success for me is also getting to know God deeper and deeper by staying in His Word and growing more spiritually. That means having a loving marriage that reflects the love of Christ with the church, and letting the love of Christ flow through me to those around me.

images1.jpg

What about you? What is the meaning of success to you? Comment below...

Sort:  

Living every moment the way I enjoy it. Learning is success. Enjoy the process of learning.

I love learning too, especially things I'm interested in.

Amen sister! I love Proverbs 22:6 ... Train up a child in the way he should go: and when he is old, he will not depart from it.

The meaning of success for me will be to hear the words from Matthew 25:21 ... Well done, thou good and faithful servant. I just strive to be led in everything I do. I often feel inadequate and unqualified, but since I want folks to see God and not me, that works out well. :)

Amen! That's another good one of mine. May the Lord be glorified in everything that we do so others can see His goodness and love.

Great question. I actually wrote an article about 33 New Ways to Measure Success. Here's some of my ideas:

  • How much you laugh every day
  • Free time
  • Location independence
  • Earning a living through helping people
  • Enjoying the little things in life
  • Making someone’s day
  • Having the capacity to give
  • The ability to choose what you do in a day
  • Leaving your comfort zone
  • Choosing love over fear

And the full list is here if you wanna check it out: https://www.feelingoodfeelingreat.com/2017/08/30/measure-success/

I read the article. You had some very good point. Thanks for sharing it :-)

Awesome. You're welcome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66367.17
ETH 3007.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71